Skip to content

Open face Lobster Panini with Buffalo mozzarella, oven-dried tomato, fava beans and tarragon butter.

October 7, 2010

I hope this finds you eating something delicious or dreaming about your next meal!

I made a thank you dinner for friends the other night. I wanted every course to be special and to scream THANK YOU. Nothing says thank you like tender chunks of freshly cooked lobster. I boiled the lobster after putting it out of its misery with a clean cut through the back of the neck (7 min for the first lb. and 3 min more for each additional lb yields perfectly cooked lobster every time). I set it aside to cool down. I drizzled a soft, buttery piece of brioche with olive oil and broiled it to achieve a crispy top yet keeping the center and bottom soft.

I blanched fava beans (removed from shell, into boiling water for 1 minutes then into an ice bath) and then slid them carefully out of their natural “sous vide” pouches. I broke down the lobster and made a stock out of the shell for another course. I gently sautéed the fava beans and lobster chunks (just to warm them up) in olive oil, butter and tarragon. I pulled the slices of perfectly ripe oven-dried tomatoes out of the oven (6 hours at 200 degrees). Wow! The tomatoes were like tomato candy! Time to build! One thin slice of Buffalo milk fresh mozzarella on the toasted brioche, then a slice of tomato, I then waterfalled the lobster and fava mixture over the top and onto the plate. A garnish of fresh chopped chives and done.

One bite in and I knew this was going to be an addition to my cookbook. The residual heat of the slightly crispy bread softened the mozzarella. The lobster juice and fava beans blended with the cheese to create a cream sauce like mouth-feel. The oven-dried tomato added the perfect acidity to balance the cheese as well as adding a sweetness that accelerated the flavor of the lobster. The chunks of lobster stood proud amongst it all giving me every bit of the pleasure they always have – Tender yet firm with the sweet flavor of the sea. I love to eat!! I am so sorry I did not get a picture but I am proud to say it was because I was so in the moment enjoying my friends, my wife and of course the lobster! Enjoy,

Eat well, Enjoy life, Be happy!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate Tunison permalink
    October 9, 2010 11:06 am

    I had a lovely piece of orange buttermilk pie at The Pie Hole in Roswell today – there was a picture of you visiting in the local newspaper recently – I look forward to your new show on The Cooking Channel!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      October 13, 2010 4:28 am

      Thank you Kate, give the crew my best!

  2. October 11, 2010 3:40 pm

    Oh, good Lord – this sounds fantastic! Oven-dried tomatoes are such a treat. Pairing them with lobster and tarragon butter would be a lovely complement of flavors and textures. Looking forward to the cookbook.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      October 13, 2010 4:28 am

      Thank you Dara! Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

