Skip to content

Wine, Eggs and some incredible food bloggers!

October 5, 2010

I had the pleasure of seeing the Good Egg Project in action last week at the Willamette Egg Farms food blogger tour in Oregon. As part of the Good Egg Project, Greg and Gordon Satrum – second and third generation egg farmers – brought food bloggers from across the nation to Willamette Egg Farms to see what modern egg farming looks like and to cook some quick and easy egg recipes with Howard Helmer and myself.

The whole event began with a delicious wine tasting (Willamette is known for Burgundy style Pinot Noir and luscious Pinot Gris) and vineyard tour at Domaine Margelle Winery. The next day, while bloggers were learning about the egg production process from hen to home, Howard and I did a few cooking demonstrations on Good Day Oregon with incredible weatherman and entertainer Andy Carson. Finally, that afternoon, we showed bloggers a few quick egg cooking tips and techniques, along with a some time-saving breakfast recipes.

These amazing food bloggers are moms, community anchors and incredibly passionate food people and cooks.They do it all! Check out their blogs to see what they’re saying about the farm and pick up a recipe or two that they’ve perfected!

She Wears Many Hats

She’s Becoming Doughmesstic

Gourmet Mom on the Go

Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures

The Naptime Chef

Prudence Pennywise

Cookin’ Canuck

The Wicked Noodle

Savor the Thyme

You can be part of the Good Egg Project too! Feed the hungry by making a pledge (no cost) to eat good. Do good every day. America’s egg farmers are donating up to one million eggs to feed the hungry.

Eat well, Enjoy life, Be happy!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 7:32 am

    Jeffrey! So much fun getting to know you at the Egg Farm tour. You and Howard are great fun and I learned a lot about how to cook eggs. I’ve been practicing on my family; they might be getting tired of eggs (is that possible?!). Cheers!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      October 5, 2010 8:50 am

      You too!!! It was a pleasure. I love your passion! I trust they are turning out well! Take care and keep in touch! Best, J

  2. October 5, 2010 8:52 am

    What a great time we had! Oregon was a beautiful place to learn about the goodness of eggs and handy cooking tips and tricks. Thanks for sharing your skills with all of us.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      October 7, 2010 7:30 am

      Hello Amy! I am so glad you made it!! It was my pleasure! Keep in touch and keep up the great work on your blog!! Warmly, Jeffrey 🙂

  3. October 7, 2010 3:10 pm

    Thanks Jeffrey! The pleasure was all our, I assure you! I’m actually getting ready to fry some perfect eggs to top our bacon and brown butter pasta for dinner. I hope you’ll stay in touch!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      October 13, 2010 4:24 am

      Cheers Susan!

  4. October 7, 2010 7:26 pm

    Hi Jeffrey! The trip was so much fun, thanks for sharing all of your great tips and techniques. My family is thrilled with my new, much fluffier scrambled egg-making method. You and Howard are starring in many of my webisodes this month! (Also, is it just me or was the Oregon weather man, in fact, Billy Idol’s little brother?) The food trucks in Portland were awesome – definitely worth a UTofA episode!!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      October 13, 2010 4:24 am

      Hello Kelsey! It was a blast, Thank you! It was great meeting you and cooking together. I am so glad the family is loving it! That is the goal! “Billy Idol’s little brother”, that is hilarious!!! Take care, J

  5. October 10, 2010 3:40 pm

    It was a great trip and I learned so much about eggs. Thank you for all your tips on cooking eggs. I have made scrambled eggs for my family several times since I got back and they love my new way of cooking them. It was great to meet you!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      October 13, 2010 4:22 am

      Hello Lynn, That is GREAT to hear!! That is why I love my “job”. Well done! It was great to meet you as well. Take care and keep cooking and writing! Best,
      Jeffrey 🙂

Leave a Reply

