Skip to content

Ancho chile spiced anejo Tequila – more chile pleasure

August 25, 2010

As you probably know I am a huge fan of chiles and Tequila. They both represent the beginning of my culinary career, the best of my travels through Mexico and some of the tastiest meals ever! My spicy margarita recipe uses silver Tequila (no wood age) and a fresh habanero chile (fruity heat). This new creation uses anejo Tequila (aged a minimum of one year in wood) with an Ancho chile (a dried, Poblano chile) (dried fruit heat). I toasted one large ancho chile over the open flame of the stove to bring the oils to the surface and soften the chile (10 seconds). I then broke it up into pieces and put the seeds and chile pieces into a bottle of anejo Tequila. I did not put the stem end cluster or stem in. I let it sit over night. One sip and you get an incredible vanilla/wood flavor followed by a smooth sweet raisin smoked chile heat. Not nearly as spicy as the habanero Tequila. The chile brought the best of the wood-aged Tequila flavors forward and married perfectly with the taste of the chile. The heat of chiles can vary so you will have fluctuations. You can leave the chile in until the Tequila is gone. The flavor will build in the first 24 hours and then level off. Try a sip with some enchiladas or your favorite taco. Rim a glass with honey and a squeeze of lime  and drink it straight or make a margarita. Enjoy!

Eat well, Enjoy life, Be happy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2010 10:29 pm

    Loved this idea Jeffrey! I’ll definitely be introducing this tequila to my Mexican Food night coming up!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      August 30, 2010 6:46 am

      Thank you Tristan! Let me know if you have questions. Enjoy!

  2. Roger permalink
    August 31, 2010 5:54 am

    I know what I will be doing on Saturday 🙂

Leave a Reply

