Skip to content

Egg Tuesday – pan poached eggs, the quick and easy method

August 10, 2010

Happy Tuesday! I hope this finds you well and enjoying a great meal!

I am out of town and my wife called me yesterday to ask how to poach eggs. I gave her this short-cut method over the phone. She sent me these pictures to post. Great job my love!

Put ¼ C water in a small non-stick skillet. Bring the water to a boil and then turn the heat to medium. Crack two eggs into the pan. Add a touch of salt and your herb or spice of choice (my wife chose herbs de Provence).  Cover the pan and make sure it does not boil. Cook the eggs until the desired doneness (three minutes for a soft, luscious yolk). Uncover the pan for the last 30 seconds of cooking so that the rest of the water can evaporate. Slide the eggs onto a plate or a sliced of your favorite toasted bread. There is an egg for every mood! What I love about this recipe is that you get a very lite, healthy egg preparation that tastes like a poached egg but done very quickly. The egg takes in any herb or spice you have so you can’t go wrong. The key is to make sure you don’t boil the water. Give the egg a gentle hot water “bath” and it will be a tender, flavorful and of course healthful.

Variations:

Smoked paprika and fresh parsley.

Basil and lemon zest.

Orange zest and ground fennel

Black olive and tomato

Spinach and feta cheese

The options are endless…

Feed the hungry by making a pledge (no cost) to eat good. Do good every day.  America’s egg farmers are donating up to one million eggs to feed the hungry.

Eat well, Enjoy life, Be happy!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jonathan permalink
    August 11, 2010 6:29 am

    This is the easiest breakdown I’ve seen yet to pach eggs. I will certainly try this soon!

    My toddler doesn’t each much, but he loves eggs. Thanks for all the great egg recipes.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      August 12, 2010 3:28 am

      Thank you Jonathan, my pleasure, enjoy the eggs and your toddler! Jeffrey 🙂

  2. August 11, 2010 11:17 am

    Hi Jeffrey!
    Thanks so much for sharing this technique. It’s very forgiving… My water DID boil (my stove sucks) and I forgot to time it exactly and I still had a perfectly poached egg with no added oil. I still had water in my pan, though… Thanks.
    Stephanie

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      August 12, 2010 3:27 am

      Hello Stephanie, I am glad you found this helpful! Once it comes to a boil you can just turn it way down until you find the right heat. If you uncover the pan in the last 45 seconds the water will evaporate. Keep cooking and thanks for reading!!! Warmly, Jeffrey 🙂

  3. Lisa permalink
    August 14, 2010 8:55 am

    My Mom used to do something very similar to this and the eggs were terrific. I will try this tomorrow for Sunday breakfast. Thanks.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      August 15, 2010 6:14 pm

      thanks for reading Lisa. how did it turn out? have a great week! Jeffrey 🙂

  4. August 22, 2010 2:24 pm

    I will definitely be trying this poaching method. This makes poaching seem far less daunting for an egg-filled breakfast.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      August 23, 2010 10:24 am

      Thank you, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

