Skip to content

I woke up crying and thinking about mushrooms…

August 8, 2010

I just finished an awesome week of restaurant consulting. It is so challenging but so rewarding. People are good by nature and want to do well. I love teaching, coaching and helping people succeed. With that said I woke up with a “work hang-over” and was immediately assigned to shredding onions by my wife. We are heading to a BBQ and she was asked to make her famous Persian Kotlets (pronounced “Coat Let”). She doesn’t give herself enough credit for being the awesome cook she is. Think of these beauties as oval shaped thin meatballs that melt in your mouth. Ground beef, shredded onions (enough to make you cry a river) potato, eggs, turmeric, and cinnamon. Pressed into the classic oval shape, breaded and pan-fried to golden perfection. By shredding the onion you get a lot of onion juice, which seems to permeate the ground beef and add to the moistness of the patties.

Although I cooked all week I haven’t cooked at home since last weekend because I was in the restaurant day and night. My wife reminded me that I should share last weekend’s new recipe with you. I grilled a cumin and black pepper rubbed pork tenderloin and served it with a “curried” corn and chanterelle mushroom sauce. I rubbed the pork loin with fresh ground cumin and black pepper (both are ingredients in a curry powder) and a little olive oil. I set it aside. I grilled a couple ears of fresh, sweet corn and cut the corn off the cob. I sautéed diced red onion and chanterelle mushrooms until golden and slightly soft. I then added a TB of my Indian spice blend (you can use a curry powder instead) and a TB of chopped garlic. I stirred it for just a minute to toast the spice and allow the garlic to become fragrant. I then hit it with a touch of heavy cream and enough chicken stock to wet the mixture and create a slightly saucy consistency. I simmered the mixture for a couple minutes more and salted it to taste. The corn was sweet with just the right amount of mild crunch. The chanterelles, which I normally give just a quick sauté with butter and olive oil to enjoy their deep, earthy, slightly sweet musky quality became even fuller in flavor in contrast to the corn. The Indian spice melted into the sauce and was the perfect bridge between the corn and mushrooms and transformed the dish into an Indian inspired chowder style sauce. I grilled the pork over med-high heat rolling it a quarter turn every few minutes until evenly golden and 150 degrees inside. I love my pork pink and juicy!! I was so in the moment enjoying the familia and the food that I didn’t think of taking a picture. So sorry! Enjoy!

Eat well, Enjoy life, Be happy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Vickie H. permalink
    August 8, 2010 10:05 am

    Shredding onions, BBQ-ing and family time sounds like a great work hangover cure. Yep, no matter how much we love what we do, we all need time off to refresh our minds, bodies and spirits – and reconnect.

    Your pork tenderloin sounds amazing – and perfectly cooked. But that chowder style sauce makes my mouth water and has to be so visually stunning. Wow. And, of course, I would love to have the recipe for Nadia’s famous Persian Kotlets…or could you point us to a similar recipe? Thank you, Jeffrey – take care – and I hope you all have a sweet and fun day!

  2. Zareen permalink
    August 9, 2010 11:04 am

    I have always been a huge fan of you and am so glad i finally found your entertaining and helpful blog! It was so great to see you on Grill It! a couple weeks ago. And thank God i found this, now i’ve got something to keep me posted about interesting spice blends….and in this case, mushrooms!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      August 10, 2010 4:17 am

      Hello Zareen, I a glad you found me too! Thanks for watching the Grill It episode. That was a blast. Bobby is great. Thanks for reading and I hope all is tasty and wonderful in your world. Best, Jeffrey 🙂

Leave a Reply

