Skip to content

Egg Tuesday – Harissa deviled eggs!

August 3, 2010

Harissa and eggs are two of my favorites and they come together brilliantly in this quick and easy deviled egg (or egg salad) recipe. Check it out and enjoy!

6 eggs, hard cooked, peeled.

2 Tb harissa

2 Tb olive oil

2 Tb fresh-chopped mint (or dried) plus some for garnish.

1 tsp cumin seed or ground cumin

Pinch salt

Hard cook the eggs and allow to cool. Cut the eggs in half the long way and scoop out the yolks. Place the yolks in a bowl. Set the whites on a plate.

Add all the ingredients to the bowl of yolks and break up with a whisk. Once broken up whip the eggs a little bit to make them light and creamy.

Spoon the yolk mixture (or pipe it in with a pastry bag and the tip of your choice or use a sandwich bag as in the video).

Sprinkle with fresh chopped mint and serve. Great cold or at room temperature.

You could also chop the whites and mix it all together to use for an egg salad sandwich or in lettuce cups.

Feed the hungry by making a pledge (no cost) to eat good. Do good every day.  America’s egg farmers are donating up to one million eggs to feed the hungry.

Eat well, Enjoy life, Be happy!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Joyce permalink
    August 3, 2010 8:26 am

    Jeffrey, please explain the difference between hard boiled and hard cooked eggs or refer me to a prior episode where you stated the difference. Thank you:)
    I’m sorry for replying so often, I must seem like a groupie, but I am so intrigued after you talk about food, I just want to share my thanks with you. I want to make this dish for my adult children who are good cooks and more adventurous in their culinary palette than their mother. Though, after hearing and watching you talk about spices I have never tried, I am ready to munch on a dishcloth dipped in harissa if you say it is delicious:)

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      August 8, 2010 8:34 am

      Hello Joyce, my pleasure! Here is the link on the incredibleegg.org website http://www.incredibleegg.org/recipes-and-more/cooking-school/hard-cook-eggs
      A brief summary: One layer of eggs in a pot. cover with water about 1″ above the eggs. Bring to a boil. The MOMENT the water hits a boil turn it OFF and cover the pot. Let it sit for 15 minutes (large eggs). Rinse the eggs in cold water. The “boiling” is what makes the egg turn green and get mealy. The low heat “bath” method keeps the egg bright yellow and brilant white as well as luciously tender! Enjoy!!

  2. Mary permalink
    August 3, 2010 5:08 pm

    Well, I see nothing wrong with being a “Jeffrey groupie”. We are actually learning many, many new things that we do not get from lots of the FN “stars” Thanks again Jeffrey!!!

  3. August 4, 2010 2:41 pm

    have you ever tried cutting the eggs the short way? you can also trim the bottoms a bit so they don’t wiggle on the platter. it works great if you don’t have a deviled egg platter and looks kinda modern. my mom’s tip, actually!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      August 8, 2010 8:30 am

      I will now!! Great advice. Thank you. 🙂

  4. Chase Lane permalink
    August 7, 2010 5:50 pm

    Nothing wrong with being a Jeffrey Groupie at all. I see he now is sporting a Kung Fu, the Early Days look, after a good run at the Legend Continues hairstyle.
    Once I get out of prison (actually an extended care place for broken bones), I am promising myself that Harissa is next on my agenda.
    Though Jeffrey taught me about Garam Marsala, I have mostly replaced it with his Indian Spice, even on top of pizza.
    One of the Mediterranean nurses here is giving her take on a good spaghetti sauce, with Greek spices. Take some mint, a tad of anise, and put it with Jeffrey’s Indian spice, sounds like a winner here.
    Blessings to Jeffrey and family. Keep going.
    Chase

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      August 8, 2010 8:25 am

      thank you Chase, be well!

  5. Kate permalink
    August 9, 2010 5:26 pm

    Hi Jeffrey,

    I have looked in several gourmet food emporiums and have yet to find harissa in a tube. Would you be willing to share the name of it so I can do more research and perhaps order it online?

    I am looking forward to trying this new way of making deviled eggs ! Thanks!

    ~ Kate

Leave a Reply

