Skip to content

Egg Tuesday – Three incredible egg preparations and my Egg BLT breakfast sandwich inspired by Laduree in Paris.

July 27, 2010

We are back in Paris and flying home in a few days. After eating so many different foods all I can think about is some simple comfort food. Nothing is more comforting to me than the incredible egg! Being in Paris I decided I should go to the “Egg Temple” – Laduree. As you can see from the pictures they put the egg on a pedestal: literally. What I love about the egg is it finds its home in the simplest homes on a budget all the way to the finest establishments in Paris. Its versatility and incredible flavor make it everyone’s favorite. I wont even get started on the incredible array of pastries, cakes and tarts they make. My scrambled eggs were like nothing I have seen before. They looked like a bowl of polenta as you can see yet each pearl sized curd was as tender and light as the most perfectly scrambled eggs I have ever had. I am fairly confident they are using the authentic French method of whisking the eggs with milk or cream over a baine marie (fancy words for pot of boiling water with a bowl on top). Using this indirect heat they are able to whisk/stir the eggs until the become firm yet without drying them. The omelet was thick and without cheese (tender but not so flavorful). The fried eggs were deliciously unique. They fried them in a very small skillet so that the egg would set up very thick. They cook them on a higher heat. As a result the bottom ends up crispy and rich from the sizzling butter, the whites in the middle are tender and perfectly set and the yolks on top are soft and luscious. If you have a very small skillet try it. What excited me the most was a lunch item they had on the menu. A club sandwich with the addition of sliced hard-cooked egg. So simple but I have never done it. (Fried egg, yes). When I get home here is what I am going to try:

Yield: Two breakfast sandwiches

4 slices white bread or bread of choice toasted or grilled

2 large hard-cooked eggs sliced

4 slices bacon cooked as you like

4 large slices of ripe tomato

4 leaves of your favorite lettuce (enough to cover the bread in one layer)

Paprika pickle mayo

Paprika pickle mayo recipe

4 TB mayo or your favorite sandwich spread

1 med size pickle or 6 cornichons (the jarred baby pickles) chopped very small.

2 tsp smoked paprika

Pinch of salt

Mix all together.

Spread the mayo evenly across the four slices of toast.

On two of the slices layer and divide evenly the egg, bacon, lettuce, tomato

Place the other two slices of bread on top and press down. Cut in half and serve.

Feed the hungry by making a pledge (no cost) to eat good. Do good every day.  America’s egg farmers are donating up to one million eggs to feed the hungry.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie Krause permalink
    July 27, 2010 7:20 am

    Very good page

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      August 1, 2010 8:06 am

      Thank you Jennie!

  2. Mark permalink
    July 27, 2010 11:47 am

    Looks like I need to get a small fry pan. Those fried eggs looks fantastic! I’m not big into scrambled eggs but I certainly would try those, but it sure looks very interesting.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      August 1, 2010 8:06 am

      Thanks for reading Mark. Let me know how it turns out. I hope I get a chance to make you some scrambled eggs one day. I bet I can change your mind 🙂 Take care and enjoy the rest of the summer! Jeffrey

  3. Joyce permalink
    July 30, 2010 8:46 pm

    Hmm, interesting twist on the BLT. I love these simple but delicious dishes you share with us. The photos are also great- love the artistic layering of the toast surrounding the boiled egg in the shell. Jeffrey, you were great on Grill It. You have been missed by those of us out here, it was so nice to see you again cook and hear you describe your food. We all wish you and your family the very, very best.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      August 1, 2010 8:09 am

      Thank you Joyce! My pleasure. Enjoy! Jeffrey 🙂

Leave a Reply

