Skip to content

All things Pig in Paris…

July 8, 2010

Tender chunks of trotter (meat from the pig’s hoof) fried into a croquette, a thin layer of pork fat from just under the prosciutto skin wrapped around perfectly cooked wild mushrooms and fried until crisp and sweet but without the overwhelming “fried” flavor, shreds of tender ox tail juicy between lightly toasted bread with a horseradish crème fraiche, sweet chunks of cool crab and avocado suspended in a light gelatinous custard, smoked salmon perched lightly on top of Mache (peppery greens), are the first tastes of Paris after arriving just two hours before from San Francisco! Paris is no exception to the head to tail trend of enjoying every part of the animal. My good friend Serena turned me on to this tiny place that has nothing more than a 10’ stainless steel counter separating you from where all the culinary magic happens. As you tilt your head back to enjoy another sip of crisp rose (which goes down like water in the summer heat) you stare at the menu cards hanging down from the ceiling to contemplate your next choice. All small plates, all delicious with wine to match. Fortunately they had a simple fried chicken dish for my son as well. This may all sound incredibly rich but they understand the balance between fat, acid, sweet and salt. When you get those four things in balance the best flavor of the food comes out and it does not taste too rich. So good! The last time we were in Paris this was our favorite little run down crepe window. It has now become this incredible miniature culinary dream! Thanks Serena.

A quick stop at my favorite chocolate maker Pierre Herme for a lighter than air macaron, a stop to see the most beautiful organ in St. Sulpice and back to the room for a quick two-hour nap before we all pass out.  Off to dinner, which was as Parisian as it gets in a six-table restaurant with the woman who owns it and one guy in the kitchen making it all, happen. That is another story…

Every time I come to Paris I fall in love again. I had originally thought it was because it was the first place I had been in Europe and didn’t know better. After traveling to many countries I realize it really is magical and my love is as true for the city as it is for my beautiful wife (who is sleeping soundly right now at 3:00am while my son, daughter and I are wide awake!) I will fall asleep dreaming about my next culinary treat tomorrow…

I hope you are well, eating something great and doing what brings you joy!

Eat well, Enjoy life, Be happy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    July 9, 2010 5:20 pm

    Your children are beautiful!! So nice to be able to take them to many wonderful places. What a great education for them and a “together” experience for your family. The very reason I am leaving a job that I like very much to be near family, that is really what it is all about. Am going to try the eggs parm this weekend, will let you know, but also know that they will be amazing!! Enjoy!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      July 13, 2010 12:43 am

      Thank you Mary. Well said! I totally agree with you. Enjoy this new chapter in your life. Warmly, Jeffrey 🙂

  2. July 11, 2010 12:40 am

    So nice posting!
    thanks for share this.
    blessing…

Leave a Reply

