Skip to content

Pan Y Tomate – bread and tomato, simple yet delicious!

June 15, 2010

We are moving to San Francisco in less than a week! The family is very excited for the next chapter of our lives. This will be the last video you see in our current kitchen. I am enjoying the true “mystery basket” daily cooking challenge of trying to empty out the refrigerator and cabinets. I had some ripe tomatoes, some rustic bread, my favorite smoked paprika and of course the always ready, willing and able incredible egg! I fell in love with pan y tomate on the first trip to Spain. Like the Tortilla Espanol (scroll a few blogs down on my blog)it is a Tapas bar staple and for good reason. It tastes great with everything, it is inexpensive and super easy to make. I decided to take it up a notch and turn it into breakfast. Check out the video and enjoy!

Feed the hungry by making a pledge (no cost) to eat good. Do good everyday.  America’s egg farmers are donating up to one million eggs to feed the hungry.

Eat Well, Enjoy life, Be happy

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2010 7:39 am

    Love love love the recipe. It really sounds simple yet delicious. Thanks for sharing.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      June 18, 2010 12:16 pm

      Thank you Tes! My pleasure. Enjoy 🙂

  2. June 15, 2010 4:34 pm

    Mmmm this looks so good! I got to try Pa amb tomaquet (must be regional spelling?) when I cooked my Andorran Global Table. Love, love, loved it. Sounds even better with some meat and egg. Good idea. 🙂 If you’re interested, here’s mine http://globaltable.wordpress.com/2010/02/28/recipe-pa-amb-tomaquet-bread-with-garlic-tomato/

    • RGRader permalink
      June 16, 2010 7:27 am

      Yum! This is what I’m having for breakfast this weekend. Can’t wait!

      • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
        June 18, 2010 12:14 pm

        Awesome Rebecca! Thank you. See ya in a week!!!! Best, Jeffrey 🙂

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      June 18, 2010 12:20 pm

      thank you, yes, you are correct, that is the Catalan spelling I believe. Keep in touch! Best, Jeffrey

  3. June 16, 2010 10:39 pm

    Jeffrey,

    You are making me hungry! I might have to run out to the store for some rustic bread and some prosciutto so I can make this. I notice that you are using a Glestain gyuto – how do you like it?

    Good luck with the move and keep up the great work!

    Andrew

  4. andrew1888 permalink
    June 16, 2010 10:56 pm

    Jeffrey,

    You are making me hungry : )

    I just might have to go out the the grocery store to get some rustic bread and prosciutto so I can experience this! I just noticed that you are using a Glestain gyuto – how do you like it?

    Good luck with your move and keep up the great work!

    Andrew

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      June 18, 2010 12:13 pm

      Hello Andrew, that is the goal! Thanks much! I hope you enjoy it. I am not sure what a Glestain gyuto (must be the proper name for something I am using?) Let me know and I will tell you how I like it 🙂
      Thanks for commenting. Keep in touch and eat something great today! Best, Jeffrey 🙂

  5. michele richards permalink
    June 17, 2010 8:49 am

    so happy to hear you are staying on the west coast! good luck to you and your family with this next adventure!! we’ll miss you! keep in touch….

    xox

    from all of us at alexandria house

    🙂

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      June 18, 2010 12:11 pm

      Thank you Michele! I look forward to doing more with the Alexandria house, you are the best. Give my best to Judy and all. Warmest wishes, Jeffrey 🙂

  6. Kari S permalink
    June 21, 2010 3:21 pm

    Looks so delicious and easy! Will definitely be my next Sunday morning brunch for my boyfriend and I! SO glad to find your blog, we loved you on The Next Food Network Star. All the best!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      June 21, 2010 10:58 pm

      Thank you Kari! Enjoy and let me know how it turns out! Don’t forget, juicy tomatoes are the key! Best, Jeffrey

  7. Joyce permalink
    July 2, 2010 9:44 pm

    Jeffrey,
    Oh, my goodness, the egg looks so delicious! Olive oil rather than butter? For health or for flavor? Just curious. No one can describe food as well as you do. I was cheering so loudly for you last season on Next Food Network Star but am so happy to be able to follow you here. The very best to you.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      July 4, 2010 8:49 am

      Hello Joyce, Thank you for your support and for checking out my blog! Yes, in this dish the olive oil is for the flavor and texture. It coats the bread and mixes with the juice of the tomato to create its own sauce! Enjoy! Keep an eye out in the next month for my Grill It episode with Bobby Flay. take care, Jeffrey

Leave a Reply

