Skip to content

Egg Tuesday – Sunday Morning Packing, Longboarding and a great Breakfast!

June 8, 2010

For me the egg is the ultimate comfort food. I had worked up an appetite between longboarding with my son (he keeps me young!) and packing. We are moving to San Francisco next week! We are trying to buy as little as possible to deplete our pantry and refrigerator so we have less to move. My challenge was to make something out of what was in the refrigerator. I had oil- cured black olives, feta cheese, some Persian bread my mother-in-law had brought over and a handful of cherry tomatoes on the counter and of course, the delicious and versatile egg. I heated a clove of chopped garlic in some olive oil. As soon as I could smell the perfume of the garlic I dropped in the cherry tomatoes (which I cut in half). Their juices came out and immediately stopped the garlic from going brown and absorbed the garlic’s flavor. I added some chopped black olives and cooked everything for just a minute until the tomatoes gave up half their juice to create a sauce but still had some body. I hit the pan with a squeeze of lemon juice and transferred the mixture to a bowl. I dropped the Persian bread (It is like thick flat bread with sesame seeds on the outside. Foccacia would be a good substitute or any bread you have) into the toaster and then used the same pan to fry the eggs (I added a touch more olive oil so the eggs would not stick). I put the fried egg on top of the Persian bread and then topped the eggs with the tomato mixture and some crumbled Feta.  I cut the egg and watched the hot yolk melt the feta cheese and become a rich, creamy sauce. Cooking is all about balancing flavor, texture and the acid/fat balance in a dish. The sesame seeds on the Persian bread had toasted golden and smelled nutty. The bread was crunchy on the outside but chewy on the inside with a malt-like sweetness. The tomatoes and lemon took turns being the perfect foil to the rich, salty feta cheese. The black olives consumed my mouth with their deep oily cured flavor but only for a moment until the feta cheese (a classic combination) took over again. The egg white was the perfect tender layer dividing the bread and the toppings. My wife loved it (that is success for me) the kids loved it and we felt like we had a nice “brunch” and were back to packing. My pan is going to be the last thing to get boxed! Have a great week and eat something delicious!

Feed the hungry by making a pledge (no cost) to eat good do good everyday.  America’s egg farmers are donating up to one million eggs to feed the hungry.

Eat Well, Enjoy life, Be happy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    June 8, 2010 7:34 pm

    I tried it – so delicious!

    Best of luck with your move to beautiful San Francisco and your new life there!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      June 11, 2010 12:46 pm

      Thank you Kate, excellent! Have a great weekend, Jeffrey 🙂

Leave a Reply

