Skip to content

Egg Tuesday – Jamie Oliver, great recipes, great teachers and a $5,000 grant!

April 27, 2010

I hope this finds you coming off of a tasty weekend of great food experiences and quality times with the ones you love!

As the spokesperson for the Incredible Edible Egg and America’s Egg Farmers I blog about eggs every Tuesday. I’m sure you have heard about celebrity chef Jamie Oliver’s mission to change the way children eat in America’s schools. It is a really powerful message about not only feeding our children well in school but also teaching them from a young age the importance and power of eating well. In my travels this week I found hard-cooked eggs being promoted as the power-protein breakfast food everywhere I went. From local cafes in San Francisco to Starbucks. At the same time I was presented with the release below. We all know a great teacher so please spread the word on this incredible opportunity to give your favorite teacher an incredible resource for fueling our children’s minds and bodies.

Eat well, Enjoy life, Be happy

America’s Egg Farmers Launch New School Program to Help Students Start the Day Right with a Healthy Breakfast

Good Egg Project Teacher Challenge will award $60,000 in grants to teachers to establish a healthy eating program in their schools

Park Ridge, IL (April 20, 2010) – While it may seem elementary, eating a nutritious protein-rich breakfast helps students stay more attentive throughout the day, maximizing learning and achievement. A number of scientific studies have concluded that the benefits of breakfast include improved memory recall time, improved grades and higher test scores. [1]

However, many families struggle to feed their children breakfast on the weekdays. According to Share Our Strength’s recent “Hunger in America’s Classrooms” report, 62 percent of teachers see children come to school hungry each week. As a result, teachers report a range of physical and behavioral symptoms in their students, including lack of concentration, lethargy and stomachaches.[2]

America’s egg farmers are teaming up with Scholastic to unveil the “Good Egg Project Back to Breakfast Teacher Challenge” and a national education program – “Incredible Breakfast, Incredible Achievement” – to ensure children eat a balanced breakfast each morning. The Challenge will award grants to teachers nationwide to help improve students’ nutritious eating, thereby, improving performance in school.

The “Incredible Breakfast, Incredible Achievement” program includes a set of standards-based lessons, family activities and recipes that encourage students and families to learn more about the importance of eating a well-balanced breakfast. This fall, more than 100,000 programs will be distributed to classrooms nationwide and in addition, teachers will be able to access the free materials online at www.scholastic.com/allabouteggsSaad Blogs with tags.doc.

“We are committed to helping America eat nutritious breakfasts, especially children,” says Craig Willardson, Chairman of the American Egg Board, which represents America’s egg farmers. “We’re pleased to join forces with Scholastic to launch the ‘Good Egg Project Back to Breakfast Teacher Challenge, which aims to get children to eat the high-quality protein breakfast they need to focus and perform their very best. Children will reap the benefits of a high-quality protein breakfast, like improved grades and higher test scores.”

How to Enter

The “Good Egg Project Back to Breakfast Teacher Challenge” is open to teachers in grades 1-8 in the United States. To enter, visit www.scholastic.com/allabouteggs to submit a 300-500 word essay explaining how a $5,000 grant would help improve achievement, attentiveness and attendance in the classroom starting with the most important meal of the day – breakfast.

[1] Pollitt E, et al. Fasting and cognition in well-and undernourished school children: a review of three experimental studies. AJCN 1998;67:779S-784S.

[1] Lake Research Partners for Share Our Strength’s Teachers Report. Survey conducted online with random sample of 740 K-8 teachers nationwide. Research was conducted Oct 21 to Oct 28, 2009. The margin of error for the survey is +/- 3.6%.


8 Comments leave one →
  1. Chase Lane permalink
    April 28, 2010 7:31 am

    Master Po,
    More and more it seems like you are taking the higher road in your journey. Though I have no animosity towards Food Channel, most of my food programs are now on other channels. Reason being: they go beyond borders. Working with the egg council becomes more than a business proposition, but a charitable one, too. Consulting for restaurants lets your imagination run wild.

    Your little south of the border video is exactly the type of program that I like to see. I’ll digress for a moment. I love Bourdain’s travels with his glib tongue. I do feel like I get to taste his foods. Similarly, I enjoy Zimmern, Fieri, and Adam Richman for the sheer enjoyment of food. But, when you go to a place and break down the spices and ingredients. you do so with the smile of my sixth grade teacher, when she knew she finally got to me with something. I do hope that wherever you travel, here or abroad, that you manage to make a few short videos as you did with the Mexican one.
    In many ways your fans have more of you now than if you had a TV show. However, I pray that you will eventually get your own show, sneaking around the globe, smuggling spices and recipes for us. It could be a cross between adventure and reality.
    I know I take a lot of your time with my incessant posts, but there always seems to be some new way to look at something, and I am helpless not to share it.
    Because I have taken an interest in cooking again, my health is actually getting a little better, though I am pretty racked up with Rheumatoid Arthritis. I do credit my passion for real foods, as opposed to junk and fast food, to you (and a few others). That, in turn, has helped me tremendously.
    Sincerely,
    Grasshopper

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      April 30, 2010 7:57 pm

      Hello Grasshopper! You are too kind!! thank you. I will keep it going for sure. China is next in two weeks!!! I am not stopping until I get a show so I look forward to adding as much value as I can. Take care and keep in touch! Best, Jeffrey 🙂

  2. CATHY permalink
    April 29, 2010 3:19 pm

    Jeffrey,
    I am very glad to see you doing so well since the food network star contest. You should have won. Melissa just doesn’t have it. Very annoying voice, and boring food recipes. I can’t watch her show without thinking that the producers blew it. Seeing what you have accomplished as a runner up is very inspiring. I hope to have a cooking show of my own soon. You give us all hope. Cream always rises to the top. Keep up the good work.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      April 30, 2010 7:45 pm

      Thank you Cathy, I appreciate the support. I am not stopping until I do! Take care and keep in touch! Best, Jeffrey 🙂

  3. Andrea permalink
    May 2, 2010 6:52 pm

    Jeffrey,

    Thank you so much for being apart of the NFNS season 5, I was rooting for you the entire season!! Regardless of the outcome, You are the true winner, because when one door closes another will open. . . and I can’t wait to see what your next step will be! The Food Network missed out on one of the greatest chefs in the world. . . You should always have that thought in your mind! I hope to keep seeing you on T.V. because you make me want to cook!!! You make me want to reach for the stars!

    Thank you again for just being yourself!

    I hope your family is doing well, keep enjoying your life, your wife, and you children!

    Thank you,

    Andrea J.
    Miami Florida

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      May 3, 2010 7:16 am

      Wow Andrea, you are so kind. THank you for making my day. This is why I do what I do! Keep an eye on the TV b/c I am not stopping until it happens. If I can all a little value to peoples lives via food I will be on top of the world. Take care and keep in touch. Thank you much! Best, Jeffrey 🙂

  4. CATHY permalink
    May 3, 2010 12:38 pm

    Thanks for the reply Jeffrey. Being Italian myself, I know the value of the mediterranean diet. My beloved parents,both Italian decent, lived until they were both 95. The wonderful garlic, olive oil and fresh water, were the main stapples of their reciepes. Mom loved bread and tomatoes and garlic and olive oil sandwiches. Dad loved everything else. They never had weight problems, and I know it’s because they took for ever to eat their meals. This is the best tip I could give you from one “chef” to another(hopefully very soon). I’ll continue to look for you on television.
    Good Luck to both of us.
    Cathy

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      May 7, 2010 12:18 pm

      Well said Cathy! You make me want to jump on a plane right now! My wife grew up in Rome and when went back all she wanted was her favorite prosciutto sandwich, clean and simple. Take care and have a tasty weekend! WArmly, J

Leave a Reply

