Skip to content

Fish tacos at Disneyland’s, hope to see you!

April 23, 2010

I am exited to be featured at this years Disney’s California Food and Wine Festival. I am going to be cooking up these tacos today, tomorrow and Sunday at 2:00 at Disneyland. It is at the Culinary Demonstrations, Sunshine Plaza, Disney’s California Adventure Park. If you happen to be there I would love to see you!

Achiote fish tacos with spicy pickled red onions. The flavors are inspired by my travels to the Yucatan Peninsula of Mexico. The bright reddish-orange annatto seed is the key to the earthy, warm flavor of achiote. When mixed with toasted cumin seed, Mexican oregano and a touch of black pepper the spice comes to life! This spice blend is great for fish tacos on the grill in the summer as well as rubbed on a pork chop or chicken breast and cooked indoors in the cooler months. I rub the fish with the spice mixture and then squeeze a touch of orange and lime juice on the fish to “activate” the spice. The moment the fish hits the hot oil in the pan the brilliant orange color bleeds into the oil. You get a mouth-watering golden orange crust on the fish. Flip it over and you know it is done cooking when a spatula slid halfway underneath the fish and lifted up breaks the fish. I break the seared morsels of fish onto a grilled tortilla and top it with creamy avocado, fresh chopped cilantro, crunchy shreds of green cabbage, grated cotija cheese and the spicy pickled red onions. I love they way two ingredients; salt and lime juice, transform hot, sharp red onions into to strips of bright pink, slightly crunchy and sweet shreds of pleasure. By adding some chopped habanero to the onions you get that “sweet heat” that I love. The bright citrus note of the habanero chile along with its piercing heat creates the perfect balance to the creamy avocado, the salty, slightly nutty cotija cheese and the fresh cilantro. The earthy, slightly pungent flavor of the spice rub encases the tender fish and remains the star flavor for sure. Whip up a margarita and make an early toast to summer! This spice blend as well as four others: Chinese, Italian, Indian and Mexican BBQ will be available here on my website in the next week. Enjoy.

Eat well, Enjoy life, Be Happy

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacy permalink
    April 23, 2010 11:27 pm

    Jeffrey,
    It was so great seeing you today at California Adventure and watching you do your magic. I have always admired your passion for food and there is no mistake that you are meant to be working in the culinary world. It was also a pleasure meeting Nadia and I look forward to seeing what is to come for you in San Francisco. Super proud of you.
    Stacy Schuler

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      April 25, 2010 8:02 am

      Hello Stacy! Thank you, thank you!. it was great to see you after so many years! Keep in touch. Best, Jeffrey 🙂

  2. christine permalink
    April 24, 2010 4:10 pm

    I so wish you had won The Next Food Network Star! I keep hoping they offer you a show. Best of luck to you!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      April 25, 2010 8:01 am

      Thank you so much Christine! Lots of good stuff happening. Keep an eye out. Thanks for reading my blog. Take care. Best, Jeffrey 🙂

  3. Nancy Olmstead permalink
    April 24, 2010 8:49 pm

    Loved your demo at DCA. AND that you brought the recipe card with you!! that way the audience can pay attention to you, and not writing…..

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      April 25, 2010 8:00 am

      Hello Nancy! Thank you for being here!! It has been a blast. I am glad you enjoyed it. Let me know how your tacos turn out. Take care and keep in touch. Best, Jeffrey 🙂

  4. Kate permalink
    April 25, 2010 8:06 am

    Hi Jeffrey

    I made my version of your fish tacos last night & they were very good! I could not find annatto or achiote and know these will be ever better when I can find some. I used some paprika for the red color along with the cumin and oregano, kosher salt and pepper. Napa cabbage, avacado, pickled Vidalia onions & Cotija cheese were the toppings. The pickled onions really made everything else get up and dance!

    Looking forward to seeing your spice blends this week.

  5. Patti permalink
    April 25, 2010 12:42 pm

    Hi Jeffrey,

    I’m late to the party so a late congratulations on being featured!

    I am trying very hard to add fish to my diet and your fish tacos will help! I had grilled mahi mahi for the first time just recently and really liked it.

    I hope you have a great time in China! Thanks in advance if you can get a garlic sauce recipe for me. Can’t wait to see what you will being back.

    I am so happy that good things are happening for you. May they continue in abundance!

    Take care…………Patti

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      April 30, 2010 8:01 pm

      thank you Patti.

  6. Christy Wait (Maggetti) permalink
    April 25, 2010 5:37 pm

    What a thrill it was to meet you, Nadia and Sebastian this weekend at the Food and Wine Festival! Gary and I have been big fans of yours since Day 1 of the Next Food Network Star competition. Your demonstration of the fish tacos was passionate, informative, personal, exciting, fun and delicious. The rumor that has been floating around that you are ALSO one of the nicest people on the planet is the absolute truth, as well! May you have much happiness and success in San Francisco! We look forward to connecting again up here in our neck of the woods! Fans and Friends, Christy (and Gary)

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      April 30, 2010 7:52 pm

      Hello Christy! It was great to finally meet you and Gary as well! Thank you so much for the support! What a great weekend. I look forward to seeing you again soon. If not sooner at our restaurant opening! Best, Jeffrey 🙂

  7. Colleen Carscallen permalink
    April 27, 2010 2:53 pm

    Hi Jeffrey,

    I want to thank you again for taking the time to talk to my daughter Shannon and me last Saturday at California Adventure. You are so kind! We are learning about cooking together, and had cheered you on during the Next Food Network Star competition. Shannon mentioned that meeting you was the highlight of our trip, and I have to agree. Good luck with your restaurant in San Francisco.

    My best to you and your family,
    Colleen

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      April 30, 2010 7:48 pm

      Thank you Colleen, the pleasure was mine! Thanks for being there. Please give Shannon my best and tell her I enjoyed meeting her! Keep in touch! Best, Jeffrey 🙂

  8. April 27, 2010 8:25 pm

    nice looking recipe and pictures, but isn’t Mexican oregano cilantro?

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      April 30, 2010 7:47 pm

      Hello, no, cilantro comes from the corriander seed. Mexican oregano is an earthier, less sweet version of the Turkish or “Italian” oregano. Enjoy! Best, Jeffrey 🙂

  9. Chantal permalink
    April 28, 2010 7:04 am

    Jeffrey,

    It was so good to meet you at California Adventure last weekend! I am going to make the tacos tonight. I can’t wait!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      April 30, 2010 7:46 pm

      Thank you. Great to meet you as well! Let me know how they turn out! Best, Jeffrey 🙂

Leave a Reply

