Skip to content

14 years of bliss and a hangover by 5:00pm!

April 18, 2010

I have had the pleasure of being married to my wife, business partner, best friend and lover for 14 years now. She is an amazing mother and without a doubt my better half as they say. We had discussed the usual weekend get-a-way and the fancy dinner. We decided that we just wanted to be together and relax. How about a day at the beach! We were on the sand by 10:30am with a bottle of killer rose Champagne and a gourmet picnic basket. I made Nadia’s favorite sandwich – Prosciutto, fresh mozzarella (burrata) salted ripe tomatoes and fresh basil leaves. I also made some grilled Panini of sautéed mushrooms, grilled asparagus tips and brought it all together with a touch of sherry vinegar, mustard and Crescenza cheese (triple cream cow’s milk cheese from Northern Italy. It is like Gorgonzola but without the blue. It disappears into the warm asparagus and golden mushrooms to create the prefect creamy sauce. The touch of sherry vinegar and mustard married perfectly with the asparagus and mushrooms but was lingering in the background so it was never overwhelming. When in doubt about food and wine matches it is hard to go wrong with a good sparkling rose. From the Marcona almonds and olives to the sandwiches the bubbles didn’t let us down. We talked for hours about falling in love, having our children and just being happy to be together. We fell asleep with a Champagne buzz and the sound of crashing waves. We make a habit of taking these breaks often, which I think is the key to a great marriage. Our anniversary was just another great excuse to celebrate! I hope you are off to a great picnic or just a relaxing lunch with the one you love. Enjoy!

Eat Well, Enjoy life, Be happy

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Patti permalink
    April 19, 2010 8:17 am

    Hi Jeffrey,

    Happy anniversary to you and your wife! Sounds like a very nice way to spend the day.

    One of my favorite Chinese meals is chicken with garlic sauce. A little spicy but not too much heat. Do you have a recipe for garlic sauce? Thanks so much!

    Patti

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      April 20, 2010 7:51 am

      Hello Patti, Thank you much! I will see if I can post one. I am spending a lot of time on Chinese lately. I am heading to China in May to do some cooking/traveling! Best, Jeffrey 🙂

  2. Chase Lane permalink
    April 19, 2010 1:41 pm

    Hi Jeffrey,
    Happy Anniversary! Your zest for life is so addictive, like you’re your own Celestine Prophecy or something. I am doing more and more experimenting with things you mentioned. I thought Garam Marsala was a wine. hehe. I have to get most of my stuff through the mail, so fresh is not always an option, but I would have never tried some of these things without you.
    I made a Thai Curry Peanut soup recently, using Garam Marsala. I had remembered your using/explaining it. It added a thousand nuances to an already unique flavor. The use of eggs in our home has increased 500% since I’ve been following your site. Often, I already have a recipe in mind, but decide to top it with some eggs. Similarly, the Koreans have a dish called Bi Bim Bap, which is a mixture of hot spices, veggies, beef, and things. At the end, it is topped off with an egg. The egg doesn’t fit…. UNTIL you try it!
    At some point in time, you’ll ascend to being the Shambhala Master of Cuisine. I just know it!
    Blessings to you and your family.
    Chase

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      April 20, 2010 7:51 am

      Hello Chase, You made my day! This is why I do what I do. Thank you so much. You obviously are overflowing with passion as well. Keep in touch and enjoy!!! Best, Jeffrey

  3. Jane Stolt permalink
    April 20, 2010 7:33 pm

    Hi Jeffrey!
    We were so happy to see you on Food Network. Paul and I still talk about Sweet Heat food! And I am still trying to re-create the sauces you had at the restaurant.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      April 23, 2010 8:50 am

      Hello Jane! Thank you so much! Take care. I hope all is great!!

Leave a Reply

