Skip to content

Egg Tuesday – Hickman Family Farm Tour!

April 13, 2010

As the spokesperson for the Incredible Edible Egg and America’s Egg Farmers I blog about eggs every Tuesday.

I will never forget my first winery tour. As a passionate wine person I had fantasies of stomping grapes in a large wooden vat and meeting the winemaker in overalls hand-crafting the wine as it ferments. I quickly realized that, other than the few artisanal exceptions, the wine world – like most industries out there – has had to adapt to the modern day to become more efficient and supply our demands. This is also what I experienced on my first egg farm tour. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Clean, efficient, and wholesome is what I walked away with. Check out the video. The entire process is focused on delivering a wholesome, clean and tasty product.

First, we entered the parking area through sanitizing wheel sprays to remove any foreign bacteria. We then entered the building and were welcomed with shower caps, booties and white “lab” coats. Every inch of the place is sparkling clean. My biggest surprise was in the hen house and how little it smelled. I really expected it to be overwhelming but it wasn’t. This is the result of conveyor belts continuously removing the chicken manure and the wind-generated fresh air filling the hen houses. There was very little noise in the hen house – just a quiet hum of the birds, who seemed very healthy, bright and clean.

I look forward to visiting Hickman’s cage-free operation as well to compare. The reality is that the egg farmers have worked very hard to provide consumers with all the choices they want. From conventional eggs at approximately $1.80 a dozen to the most expensive organic, free-range eggs, the choices are out there. Egg farmers are really hard-working people that are incredibly dedicated to making sure the eggs you feed your family are safe and the highest quality they can be.

Feed the hungry by making a pledge (no cost) to eat good do good everyday at www.GoodEggProject.org.  America’s egg farmers are donating up to one million eggs to feed the hungry.

Eat Well, Enjoy life, Be happy

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 9:16 am

    Some years ago in Prescott, Arizona, I was the armed guard for a small flock of bantam chickens that produced very lovely little eggs, in defiance of the odds. Despite the fact that they were housed behind a secure fence, slept indoors in their own house, and I patrolled with a weapon — the predators were relentless, and the heat and cold were always threats. When I retired from chicken duty, I turned to Hickman’s eggs and have never looked back. I know firsthand that the Hickmans and their crew do everything possible to run a humane, efficient, and high-quality operation. Having seen the entire process behind the scenes and “up close and personal,” I buy Hickman’s eggs with absolute confidence.

  2. Kurt Unterschuetz permalink
    April 14, 2010 8:57 am

    Love Hickman’s Eggs! The egg is really a miracle food containing so many good nutrients. I look forward to hearing about your visit to the Hickman’s Egg Farm. They are top notch!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      April 18, 2010 8:58 pm

      Thank you Kurt! Take care, Jeffrey 🙂

  3. April 14, 2010 9:40 am

    Hey Jeffrey,

    I had a great time hosting you out here in Arizona. Great food seems to follow you around. Although the farm tour was alot of fun, I gotta say hitting breakfast and lunch with you at some fabulous Phoenix restaurants followed by your appearance on Channel 12’s Local Dish was inspiring to the point that Jen made your egg salad recipe THAT SAME NIGHT. Fantastic meals that day buddy, thanks for all that you do!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      April 18, 2010 9:01 pm

      Thanks Clint. It was a pleasure! You have an awesome family! Best, Jeffrey

Leave a Reply

