Skip to content

Poaching eggs – The short cut

February 23, 2010

As a spokesperson for America’s egg farmers and the incredible edible egg I blog about eggs every Tuesday. Today I was having a real egg moment. I am not a fan of taking vitamin supplements. I neveer have been. When I hold the egg I think about the fact that this little gift to the world is not only the most fantastic ingredient but is loaded with 13 essential vitamins and minerals! The egg is my one a day!  I also love the versatility of the egg. Whether I want completely healthful or rich and decadent the egg fits the bill. Whether I want quick and easy or want to spend a day in the kitchen the egg is it. Today I am in a very healthful mood. I am going to make a short cut poached egg breakfast. “How do I poach eggs?” is one of the most common questions I get. I use this short-cut pan poaching method to make a quick, healthy breakfast of poached eggs on whole wheat toast with shredded arugula.(for full instructions on the traditional poaching method check out my blog www.jeffreysaad.com)

Place 1/2 C. of water in a small non-stick skillet. Bring to a boil, turn down to a simmer and crack one or two eggs into the pan (you can also use a large skillet and 2 C. of water to do as many as 6 eggs at a time). COVER the pan and let cook for about 2 minutes. Because you have a minimal amount of water in the pan the eggs are easy to manage. The covered pan speeds up the cooking and the absence of butter and oil give you a moist, tender, healthful egg. Toast your whole wheat bread and set it on a plate. Using a rubber scrapper/spatula gently slide under the egg to make sure it is not stuck. Lift it on an angle against the pan and drain the water off of it. Set it on the toast. Top with chopped spinach or arugula. Head off for a great day knowing you have a nice steady energy source to get your day going. Enjoy.

Feed the hungry by making a pledge (no cost) to eat good and do good everyday.  America’s egg farmers are donating up to one million eggs to feed the hungry.

Eat Well, Enjoy life, Be happy

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott permalink
    February 23, 2010 5:21 am

    Great tip for a fast weekday breakfast. Here’s what I like to do with poached eggs. http://tiny.cc/WTKrw

  2. Judiith permalink
    March 2, 2010 8:03 pm

    I LOVE eggs, just about any way you fix them… but I have a question: does anyone know the content/nutritional value of that white foamystuff that you get in the pan when you poach eggs?

    – Thanks!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      March 3, 2010 10:25 am

      Hello Judith,
      Thanks for your comment. Interesting question? As you probably know adding vinegar to the poaching water helps to keep the egg white together. I think that the white foamy stuff you are referring to is the bits of eqg white that have separated from the rest of the egg and then coagulated in bits in the water. I would guess that it has the same nutritional value as the egg white (which is a lot 🙂 ). Does that make sense? Have a great day, thanks for reading! Best, Jeffrey 🙂

Leave a Reply

