Skip to content

Egg Tuesday – Eggs Benedict the easy way.

February 9, 2010

As the spokesperson for the incredible edible egg and America’s egg farmers I blog about cooking eggs every Tuesday.

I still remember vividly being a kid and going to Sunday brunch with the family. It was always a big deal to get dressed up. The idea of the buffet was so grand and something to really look forward to. All I can eat and an entire dessert table!! One of my favorites was, and still is eggs Benedict. It is such a perfect balance of flavors and textures. The first thing that would catch my eye would be the two perfectly poached eggs perched proudly on top of the crispy English muffins. The gown of Hollandaise was protecting the yolks until I was ready. A gently push with my fork and the luscious egg yolk would run out and combine with the Hollandaise to create the perfect sauce. The slightly crisp asparagus added the perfect bit of resistance to the otherwise silky texture. The slices of ham made it a balanced meal adding a touch of salt and that wonderful pork flavor.

We don’t do many buffets now but we do like to enjoy a great brunch at home on the weekends as a family. If you keep a couple hard-cooked eggs in the refrigerator this recipe is even quicker. My quick and much healthier version of a Hollandaise is as follows.

Puree two hard-cooked egg yolks in a blender with 1 Tb of lemon juice, 1 Tb water, a pinch of salt and a couple drops of mustard. Puree to smooth. There is no butter like a traditional Hollandaise so it is a much easier, quicker process yet the result has the same luxurious mouth feel.

Toast your English muffins. Top with your choice of ham, asparagus or whatever you like, then the poached eggs(you can absolutely use fried eggs as well). Waterfall your “hollandaise” over the top and enjoy! If you want instructions on how to poach eggs check out my blog on poaching eggs www.jeffreysaad.com . I just saw a Modern Marvels episode on the History Channels. They did an entire piece on the incredible egg. Not only was it very interesting but they recommended 4-7 eggs per week per person as part of a balanced, healthy diet. There is nothing better than being told what I love to eat is also good for me. Enjoy your eggs.

New News – America’s egg farmers are searching for the next Incredible Person! You can share videos of you and/or your child’s extraordinary mind/body talents and skills on www.incredibleegg.org. The winner will have a chance to appear in an incredible edible egg ad along with other great prizes, including a year’s supply of eggs and a donation of 10,000 eggs to the winner’s local food bank of choice! On top of that, America’s egg farmers will match every video uploaded by donating one egg to Feeding America!

Eat Well, Enjoy life, Be happy

6 Comments leave one →
  1. tam permalink
    February 9, 2010 8:12 pm

    Hi Jeffrey!! Glad to see Eggs Benedict!!! Are you telling me that the hollandaise is just egg yolks blended with the extras-lemon juice, salt, and mustard? I plead guilty…I never knew. Or, I’m lazy and the dry powder packet was just easier..hmmm

    Anyway – I always anticipate egg tuesday with ya…! I had three this am at work…so 4 more to go this week 🙂 Yay!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      February 10, 2010 11:38 am

      Hello Tam,
      Traditional Hollandaise is actually a ton of clarified butter whisked into egg yolks. Can be very challenging to make correctly. This is my “cheat”, quick version that gives you the same mouthfeel and richness. Enjoy those eggs! Thanks. Best, Jeffrey 🙂

  2. February 9, 2010 10:10 pm

    This is something new for me. I liked it so much. Thanks for sharing. It means a lot because I like eggs!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      February 10, 2010 11:36 am

      Thank you, enjoy!

  3. October 1, 2010 7:31 pm

    I love egg,but do’t know how to cook it in new method.Now I have new recipe,tanks a lot.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink*
      October 4, 2010 9:29 am

      I am so glad! Enjoy and thank you for reading! Warmly, Jeffrey

Leave a Reply

