Skip to content

The obvious is not always so obvious; seasoned bread crumbs!

February 5, 2010

I hope this finds you with the lingering taste of a great meal in your mouth!
I always use my spice grinder ($20 coffee grinder) to grind whole spices. I love the way this releases their powerful, flavorful, fresh oils into whatever I am cooking. Grinding whole spices is a quick, easy way to boost the flavor of your food.

After grinding spices I have always used a scrap of baguette or slice of bread to “mop” out the spice grinder. I drop in the bread, pulse while shaking, and watch the bread turn into crumbs as it cleans the inside of the grinder perfectly. What I never paid attention to is the amazingly fragrant, perfectly seasoned breadcrumbs that were the bi-product of my cleaning. I used to just toss them!

I made a cauliflower soup, cleaned the grinder out to remove the cardamom flavor/smell and then sautéed those cardamom scented bread crumbs in olive oil as a topping for the soup. Awesome!

How about cleaning out the grinder with tortilla chips and then using those cumin/oregano/chile scented chips to garnish your enchiladas. Hello!!

There is no end to the discoveries that lead to more pleasurable eating. Life is good.

Eat well, Enjoy life, Be happy

5 Comments leave one →
  1. KCatGU permalink
    February 9, 2010 12:13 pm

    I had never heard of the tip to clean out the spice/coffee grinder with bread.
    So thank you for two tips in one.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      February 10, 2010 11:36 am

      My pleasure KCatGU! Thanks for reading and enjoy! Jeffrey 🙂

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      February 10, 2010 11:39 am

      Enjoy! Thanks.

  2. February 14, 2010 4:41 am

    spice grinderrrr?? woww.. very nice blog. thanks for posting this, looking forward for your next menu..im gonna add this up in my site..is it okay?

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      February 15, 2010 7:42 pm

      Of course you can add it to your site. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

