Skip to content

Five minute salad of mushrooms and grilled asparagus

January 3, 2010

I love my new Christmas gift – A Breville Panini press. I had always had the George Foreman grill but did not realize what I was missing out on. This Breville is like having an indoor grill! It gets really hot and the grates leave beautiful grill marks on the food (No, I am not a spokesperson for Breville but I love a good product!).

Step one – Turn on grill press to heat up.

Step two – Hot pan, hot oil, drop in the mushrooms. Add a touch of salt and pepper. Sauté to golden.

Step three – Lay the asparagus in the grill press and drizzle with a touch of olive oil, salt and pepper. Close lid.

Step four – In a large bowl add your clean mixed greens.

Step five – In a squeeze bottle (my favorite) or in a bowl mix 1 part red wine vinegar, 2 parts olive oil, 1 tsp mustard, ½ tsp soy sauce, and a pinch of salt. Shake or whisk to combine.

Step six – Toss greens with dressing and place on plates. Spoon roasted mushrooms over greens. Lay grilled asparagus over greens. Garnish with shavings of Parmesan cheese.

Step seven – enjoy!

I love greens. They are healthy and full of flavor. They are the perfect palate for almost anything. Whenever I feel like “we have nothing in the refrigerator” I can always pull something together with some salad greens. A bite of greens lightly dressed with the sharp, clean flavor of red wine vinegar and mustard, the roasted creamy flavor of the mushrooms and the firm full vegetal flavor of asparagus adds a great texture as well as tons of flavor. The finishing touch of Parmesan is like the culinary magic wand. Its nutty, salty, Umami quality always takes a dish to the next level.

Eat well, Enjoy life, Be happy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    January 4, 2010 11:14 am

    Jeffrey,

    This salad sounds really good and I will try it!

    I really wanted to let you know I found some Harissa at Williams Sonoma over the holidays and it is fantastic! I have mixed it with some mayo and plain Greek yogurt for a great sandwich spread. I love the pimento taste and am looking for different ways to incorporate it in to my cooking. Thanks 🙂

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      January 4, 2010 4:28 pm

      Thank you Kate! I am so glad. Happy New Year and keep in touch! Jeffrey 🙂

Leave a Reply

