Skip to content

Egg Tuesday – Grandma would be proud

December 22, 2009

As a national spokesperson for the Incredible Egg and America’s Egg Farmers I blog about the magic of eggs every Tuesday.

Today I woke up feeling the full warmth of the holidays. I was hungry. I thought of my Grandma’s famous puffy pancake and got inspired. It is a version of a popover. Turn the oven to 400. Put 2 TB of butter, 1 cubed green apple (skin on or off) and 2 TB of brown sugar in a baking dish. Place it in the hot oven. After five minutes the butter and brown sugar are melted and you already start to smell the nuttiness of the butter and the perfume of the apple. While that is in the oven you can make the quick batter.  In a bowl mix three eggs, ½ C flour, ½ C of milk and a pinch of salt. Whisk to combine.

Carefully take the hot dish out of the oven and pour the batter on top of the brown butter/apple mixture. Place the dish back in the oven and cook for 12 minutes. Watch the pancake rise in the oven. The apple cubes become golden, soft and sweet and perch themselves on the peaks of the pancake mountains. A drizzle of your favorite syrup and you are ready for a tasty start to the day. I think Grandma would be proud!

Other tasty options:
1. You can use chopped pears, bananas, mango or any fruit you like.
2. Simmer your favorite syrup with some finely chopped ginger or ground ginger.
3. Great for dessert as well.
4. Do the same thing but in a muffin pan for individual breakfast “soufflés”.

Feed the hungry by my making a pledge (no cost) to do good and eat good every day. The American Egg Farmers are donating up to one million eggs to feed the hungry.

Eat well, Enjoy life, Be happy

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 2:56 pm

    great recipe, easy to do – I loved it! But, as your friend, I had to make it better, so I added a bit of cinnamon, a touch of cardamom, and a tiny bit of allspice – and that is when I rememberd that my Lebanese Great Grandma would useds make the same thing!

    Nothing new in the cooking world, but sometimes, as here, older is better!

    ””””””””””””””””””””””happy holidays to you and ‘Nadia & the kids….

    write to me – Markjeblan@gmaiol.com

  2. LizAndrsn permalink
    December 22, 2009 5:33 pm

    I had no idea you could do the apples in advance, in the same pan. Your Grandma really knew how to work time saving into a delicious recipe. Christmas morning – I now know what’s for breakfast!

    Merry Christmas, Jeffrey & Family.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      December 28, 2009 12:44 pm

      She did! Thanks for checking it out. Happy Holidays Liz! Jeffrey 🙂

  3. December 22, 2009 8:17 pm

    In those days, cooks (my great grandma) were efficient! As you must know, Holidays were a busy time, and time was of all the essence – these were, after all, family recipies, and when one lived in a town full of relatives, there was no way of telling who or how many would just show up or when, so one had to always be prepared.

    As you well know, showing up at a relatives lebanese home and not being offered the usual delicacies of the season is still unforgivable!

    Even now, you are force-fed with the daintiest of confections, and, if not forthcoming in excess, one os considered poor, or, even worse: “Mesquin”.

    Mark Eblan

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      December 28, 2009 12:42 pm

      Well said Mark! Great catching up with you on the phone. I will try you back. Take care.

  4. Shawn permalink
    December 26, 2009 7:41 pm

    Hi, Jeffrey! Just found your blog and will probably be reading through past entries all day. Although I didn’t watch every episode of The Next Food Network Star, I was rooting for you. I read somewhere they’re going to split the instructional cooking programming off onto its own channel in a few years, The Cooking Channel. Wonder if future winners of TNFNS will be hosting some sort of bizarre reality food show.

    This recipe reminds me of a clafoutis/flognarde, only done entirely in the oven. Looks great. I think I might try making this tomorrow morning for everyone. It will have to be with a red delicious apple, but I think it’ll be okay. Maybe I’ll tinker with it a bit and sprinkle in some cinnamon with the apple and put some vanilla extract in the batter, too.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      December 28, 2009 12:38 pm

      Hello Shawn, Thank you! Glad you like it and have discovered the blog. Let me know how yours turns out. Cheers! Jeffrey 🙂

Leave a Reply

