Skip to content

Guy Fieri, The Incredible Edible Egg, Hoefflin Foundation, Alexandria House, Star soccer player and the best daughter in the world!

December 21, 2009

What an incredible week!! I am living my dream and am so grateful to all of you for your support. Thank you!

Monday and Tuesday I was filming spots for the Incredible Edible Egg. I really enjoy working with those folks and of course love to constantly find new ways to enjoy the incredible egg.

Wednesday I had the honor of cooking a five course meal that was auctioned off to raise money for the Michael Hoefflin Foundation. This is an amazing organization that supports families as they go through the process of having a child with cancer. My wife and I drove to their modest corporate office and were greeted by a memorial wall of children that have lost their lives to cancer. You quickly realize that you don’t really have any problems. The organization currently supports 250 families all with a child suffering from cancer. The board room was set up as a beautiful dining room. We started with a butternut squash soup with allspice cream. We then went into a chopped endive salad with preserved lemons (I have had them salting for over three months) and a basil-almond dressing. Next was a tostada with wild roasted mushrooms, zucchini and onions simmered in an achiote sauce and topped with goat cheese. A filet mignon with Dungeness crab and a tomato-harissa coulis was the final course. The folks at Hoefflin give so much of themselves it was so great to be able to give a little back!

Thursday I did the opening demo for Guy Fieri’s Road Show at the Wiltern theatre in Los Angeles. It was the 17th stop on a twenty city tour. What a rush!! To be backstage with some serious food network talent was awesome in itself. Sunny Anderson is the coolest girl; Robert Irvine is exactly as you see him on screen. His arms are bigger than my thighs! Curtis Stone was as cool as you would expect. Guy has literally swept up everyone he has ever made contact with and changed their lives for the better. His crew is the coolest bunch of guys made up of Triple D owners, people that have done work for him over the years, friends, everyone. Very cool.  Then I walk out onto stage do open the show by demoing my five spice shrimp sliders in front of 1000 people!!! Twenty minutes felt like five minutes. I felt totally in the groove and could have done it all night!

Saturday was my son’s final two games for his regional soccer playoffs. They played with incredible heart and took second place. If you are a parent you know the joy! That night I cooked a seven course meal to raise money for the Alexandria house. They are an amazing group of people that take women and their children in and help them get back on their feet. They just opened an incredible new community center as well. My daughter saved me by helping me make the tiramisu for the dessert. I realized what a great cook she has become as I watched her separate and whip eggs effortlessly. The meal began with wild mushroom and truffle crostini followed by a butternut squash soup with five-spice cream, sweet/spicy Chinese green beans, seared scallop with green chile chutney and chipotle cream, butternut squash and brussel sprout risotto, grilled lamb with a mint-harissa coulis and sheep’s milk feta and then finished with the tiramisu.

If you are looking for a charity to contribute to please consider the Alexandria House and the Hoefflin foundation. Great people, great causes.

I hope you are having lots of tasty holiday food experiences and enjoying the ones you love!! Happy Holidays. I hope all your dreams come true in 2010.

Eat well, Enjoy life, Be happy

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

