Skip to content

Spiced Eggnog Meringue – a tasty drink or dessert.

November 20, 2009

My mother used to make a big vat of eggnog every year. That was my first introduction to that brown magical sphere called nutmeg. She would have it lying out on a plate with a grater so one could grate the amount of nutmeg on top that they desired. I always loved the rich mouth feel. The feeling that you are drinking spiced silk, the way it coats your tongue and fills your mouth with spices. My wife and I were enjoying one of our moments alone in a quiet house while the kids were at school. I decided to make my own twist on eggnog yesterday. I wanted to serve it straight up in a martini style glass with the idea of having it for dessert. I made lighter eggnog, (3 yolks/1 C ½ and ½ and a TB of honey) not as thick. I then heated egg whites and spiced sugar (cloves, allspice, white pepper and sugar in the coffee grinder to a dust) over simmering water until about 140 degrees. I then beat the egg whites to a custard like consistency. I poured the meringue in the bottom of the glass and then topped it with the eggnog. The meringue created its own natural swirl and rose to the top like a cloud of sweet spice. I shaved a touch of chocolate over the top.The mouth feel was definitely silky as I always remembered but a little lighter and not too sweet. The spiced meringue brought the sweet element as well as the warm baking spices that have your tongue singing Christmas carols along with a mild heat from the white pepper. I loved sipping eggnog with my wife, getting into the holiday spirit and having the whole world disappear for a few moments. You must try this one. It is a great holiday drink or a perfect dessert. Let me know if you would like me to email you the exact recipe. Enjoy!!

 Key Flavor Factors:

  • Stir the egg yolk/cream mixture continually to avoid cooking the yolk. Have a thermometer handy and stop the cooking at 155 well before a boil.
  • Stir the egg white/sugar mixture continually to avoid cooking the eggs. Use a bowl over a pot of simmering water. Stop at 140 degrees. Then beat on high until custard like.
  • Grind the spices really finely (or use pre-ground) with the sugar to create a fine powder that will blend nicely in the egg whites.

 Eat well, Enjoy life, Be happy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi Cochran permalink
    November 21, 2009 11:49 pm

    Please email the recipe.
    Thanks.
    Sandi

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      November 23, 2009 6:10 pm

      Just sent it. Thank you Sandi 🙂

Leave a Reply

