Skip to content

Egg Tuesday, “breakfast burger”

October 27, 2009

Today is my incredible egg posting. I get to share my passion for cooking and eating eggs as the spokesperson for the American Egg Farmers. I look forward to creating something new each week or re-discovering an old favorite to share. Nothing gets the day going quicker and tastier than this scrambled egg burger. The kids love the look of it and I always end up wanting one myself. All you need is one pan.

1. Take a non-stick pan and heat it over medium heat. Melt 2 tsp. of butter in the pan and toast the hamburger bun at the same time that you heat a slice of ham.

IMG_2273

2. Set the bun and ham on a plate. Mix two eggs with a couple TB of water and a pinch of salt. Whisk to blend and pour into the same pan. Drag the egg gently across the pan with a spatula to create folds of light, fluffy egg. Do not stir or the eggs will break into curds. When there is just a slight shine left on the eggs scoop them onto the bottom bun and top with a slice of cheese. Close the top bun with the ham on it and you are done.IMG_2275

The residual heat of the egg and ham melts the cheese perfectly. I cut this in half and my daughter Isabella gets one half and my son Sebastian the other. It is just the right amount for a perfect breakfast. They get their nutrients, I get them fed quickly and life is good. Off to another great day!

Want to take it to the next level? Sprinkle on a little smoked paprika.

Key flavor factors:

1. Make sure the pan is on medium and the butter is melted. Rub the buns in the melted butter to get an even coating.

2. The slice of ham gets warm in 30 seconds and leaves behind its great flavor in the pan for the eggs to absorb. No need for a second pan.

IMG_2277

3. Don’t let the pan get too hot before you add the eggs. If the pan is too hot you will not get light, fluffy eggs. Turn the heat off towards the end of cooking the eggs and allow the residual heat to finish cooking them.

I am working hard with the egg farmers to donate food to the hungry and to spread the word about the good egg project. If you have not had a chance to make a pledge yet (no cost) please go to the good egg project and make your pledge.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bright Light permalink
    October 28, 2009 8:44 am

    Great idea to have a summary at the end listing the “key flavor factors”. Best wishes for continued success!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      October 29, 2009 9:10 am

      thank you for that feeback. I am so glad you think so. I am working on my book proposal and that is one of the things I am adding. I think that is what allows someone to follow a recipe and have it turn out right. thanks for the support, have a great day 🙂

  2. tam permalink
    October 29, 2009 8:48 am

    Hi Jeffrey-
    This is simple and yummy though I like the sandwich you shared a few weeks back with the arugala better. I’ve fixed that darn thing about 5 times already!

    Yay for Egg Tuesdays!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      October 29, 2009 9:09 am

      thank you tam. I hear you. this is the simple, quick one. the other one is the gourmet, treat yourself, indulge one!! thanks for your support. have a great rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

