Skip to content

Tuesday is egg day.

October 20, 2009

As most of you know my passion for cooking eggs has given me the opportunity to be a spokesperson for the American Egg Farmers. I have the pleasure of creating egg recipes, demonstrating how easy it can be to cook with eggs, and spreading the word about the great things that are happening with eggs and the egg farmers. Currently we are working on the Good Egg Project which is helping to educate America on where eggs come from and feed the hungry in the process. I am going to blog about eggs every Tuesday. I hope to give you valuable tips on everything from how to properly hard cook an egg to showing you how decadent and special a dish can be with the use of the egg. Today it is all about a quick egg dinner. As much as I love cooking eggs for breakfast they also provide a great dinner opportunity when I want something quick, tasty and nutritious for the family. This recipe is “without borders” playing off of the idea of an egg drop soup. Quick and easy.

Sauté some thinly sliced carrots and onions along with a couple cloves of garlic until golden and sweet. I love how adding color to almost anything equals flavor. A simple carrot and onion become so flavorful when roasted to golden brown. I then add some chicken broth and bring it to just under a boil. The broth pulls the flavor off the bottom of the pan and out of the roasted veggies. I add a handful of chopped herbs (tarragon in this case. I love the citrusy, slightly anise quality of tarragon). You can use basil, cilantro, or whatever herb you are in the mood for. Dried or fresh. When the broth is just under a boil I crack my eggs into the pot. I set the timer for three minutes. The key is to keep the broth at just barely simmering. You don’t want it to boil once you drop the eggs in. Using a slotted spoon I place one egg in each soup bowl and then ladle the soup over the top.

The broth is light and tasty. After a few spoonfuls I pop the yolk with my spoon and it thickens the soup slightly making it rich and tasty. The veggies provide a nice texture. The kids like it, my wife likes it and it only took ten minutes so we still have the night together to enjoy.

Eat well, enjoy life, be happy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    October 20, 2009 10:31 am

    Sounds lovely Jeffrey! With the Fall chill here in Atlanta I will try it soon *;*

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      October 23, 2009 9:11 am

      thank you 🙂

  2. Kate permalink
    October 22, 2009 6:18 am

    Jeffrey,

    Well, I made it with a few variations! I tossed in a handful of fresh spinach after sauteing the carrots and onion, plus a couple Tlbs. cooked rice. What really made it sing was a dash of curry! The egg yolk melting into the broth gave it more substance. Thanks for a good and quick new recipe!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      October 23, 2009 9:11 am

      Well done Kate! Sounds yummy! That is cooking without borders 🙂

Leave a Reply

