Skip to content

New York is one of the greatest food cities in the world! Eating without borders!

October 14, 2009

Wow, just got back from a non-stop pleasure fest in Manhattan. My wife and I went for the New York Food and Wine Festival. We enjoyed the events and the opportunity to meet many of the fans from the show. It was an honor and a pleasure.meatpacking from the hiline It is also crucial as parents to have time together alone without the kids. I remind the kids that the reason they are here is because I fell in love with their amazing mother. The pleasure didn’t stop there. We had four amazing dinners back to back. Check these out next time you are in Manhattan.

The first night our great friends took us to their local spot. It is called the Persian Grill. 1237 1st Ave. When I proposed to my wife 13 years ago in her native language Farsi I knew I was getting the best woman in the world. What I didn’t know was that the door to a whole new culture and cuisine was about to open. nadia and I NYHer mother has made me all the best Persian stews. The thing I love to order at Persian restaurants is the kabobs. My favorite is Joo Jeh Kabab. It is a Cornish hen broken down and marinated in a mixture of yogurt, saffron, lemon juice and turmeric. The yogurt and lemon juice tenderize the meat making it incredibly moist and juicy. The high heat of the grill chars the outside to make the skin crisp. The color is a glowing yellow from the turmeric and you are surrounded by a perfume of the saffron with each bite. The nutty basmati rice with a melted pat of butter, roasted whole roma tomato and sumac is always the perfect compliment.

The next night was Minetta Tavern in Greenwich Village. 113 MacDougal St. One of the greatest chefs I know and a mentor of mine Arnold Rossman runs the restaurant. It is the coolest place that makes you want to travel back in time to sit with the people that have dined there. The bone in NY strip reminded me of why I love meat. My wife’s dry aged prime burger was literally like eating the same steak on a bun. I don’t think I have ever eaten anything so tender.

Third night was a legendary SOHO spot called Raoul’s at 180 Prince St. A classic French style restaurant that prides itself not in doing the newest things but doing the best things. We had the escargot ragout with polenta. I did not know that escargot could melt in your mouth. The Wild Striped Bass with cockles and chorizo was amazing. My friend commented that he watched me enjoy a culinary facial as I held my face over the bowl for a solid minute to take in the fragrance. Food is like relationships. When you take the time to really “listen” to your food and take it all in you appreciate it so much more. Those first smells of piquant chorizo and the sweet sea were as satisfying as the bites that followed. The service was impeccable.

The last night my wife and I were lucky enough to get seated as a walk-in at the famous Lupa restaurant. Mario Bitali deserves his success. Pasta done to perfection. House cured meats that make me want to learn how to make every type of charcuterie. Great service again.

Food without borders, friends without borders, the food network and time alone with my wife. What more can a cook and husband ask for! Enjoy

Eat well, enjoy life, be happy.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2009 6:12 pm

    I’m curious, were you a Guest at the Fest, or just a Regular Joe (with a following)? I’ve read a couple reviews of the activities, but I’d be interested to hear your take. Care to, um, dish?

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      October 15, 2009 6:49 am

      Just a culinary Joe enjoying the festivities and seeing some friends.

  2. October 15, 2009 7:14 am

    I’m not sure what makes me smile more, the love story or the food recos! I think I used to go to Minetta’s as a kid with my mom. I think they made an amazing marinara sauce and once we asked for the recipe and it included veal shanks and other yummy meats. Funny. Will have to try the other places.

    Next time you’re in Chicago, you and Nadia HAVE to come to Andersonville and try all the Persian/Middle Eastern places on Clark Street. Ed and I will treat.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      October 16, 2009 6:26 am

      Thank you Allison 🙂

  3. October 18, 2009 2:16 pm

    Hi Jeffrey! I watched The Next Foodnetwork Star religiously, and so I was really excited when I discovered your blog! I’m glad that you got to try out Lupa while you were in NYC! It’s actually one of my favorite restaurants with amazing buccatini! I’ve tried Otto pizzeria and Casa Mono, but I have to say Lupa was my favorite!! As a novice chef, I’m excited to learn about new restaurants and cooking tips via your blog!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      October 19, 2009 6:21 am

      Thank you Jessica. I look forward to enjoying the same restaurants. Take care and keep cooking! Thanks for following.

Leave a Reply

