Skip to content

An American classic taken to heaven with the egg!!

September 13, 2009

My son Sebastian is 9 and doesn’t usually want to cook. When he said to me “hey dad, can we make sloppy Joes and a lemon tart this weekend” I said absolutely! We had a great time as I taught him how to brown the meat, crack eggs and roll tart dough. He was able to separate eggs on the first try. Can you tell I am the easily impressed, proud dad!sloppy joe con juevos

The sloppy Joes turned out awesome. We took our time and got the meat and finely chopped onions really brown before adding the tomato puree, BBQ sauce and ketchup. A touch of Worcestershire gave the mix a nice depth and the magic flavor that anchovy can add. We let the savory rich meat sauce simmer with the lid on over very low heat until the meat almost melted and became one with all of the liquid ingredients.

I toasted the hamburger buns and buried them with two large scoops of the sloppy Joe meat. I paused for a moment and thought why not an egg on top! I fried and egg and draped it over the meat sauce. I popped the yolk and put the top of the bun on. The yolk became the magic creamy sauce that it always does and brought the classic sandwich to a whole new level. My daughter, her friend, my son and wife all wanted an egg on theirs. It was a hit. It always amazes me how the egg can add incredible richness but without being heavy. The creamy yolk was the perfect balance to the mouth-puckering acidity of the tomato and BBQ sauce in the meat mixture. The toasted bun added the desired crispness. More on the lemon tart later…Enjoy!

Eat well, enjoy life, be happy.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2009 3:25 pm

    ok I’m sold! LOL

  2. Rick permalink
    September 13, 2009 6:26 pm

    Hi Jeffrey – Thanks for the tip about the egg on top. I’ve got to try it. Your website if full of great tips which I love. I really enjoyed you on the NFNS – wish you would have won. I wish you continued success!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      September 17, 2009 9:51 am

      Thank you Rick! I appreciate the support! Thanks for checking out the site. Have a great day! Warmly, Jeffrey

  3. tam permalink
    September 15, 2009 7:18 am

    Jeffrey loves those eggs! I actually made sloppy joes this weekend too – and I do love eggs so next time I sware I’m doin this!!

    You must buy dozens and dozens at a time – or do you have a chicken in the back yard? And is there a flavor difference in quail eggs?

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      September 17, 2009 9:49 am

      Hello Tam, LOL! I know local food is the new way of life but that is a little too local for me 🙂
      I guess my egg passion lead me to my newest gig. I am the national spokesperson for the American Egg Board. Exciting stuff! I promise to keep lots of other recipes coming that don’t have eggs as well 🙂 Have a great day. Warmly, J

  4. tam permalink
    September 17, 2009 12:57 pm

    And to the tune of Beyonce’s Single Ladies –

    “If ya like it then ya shoulda put an egg on it” 🙂

  5. September 23, 2009 5:52 pm

    I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

Leave a Reply

