Skip to content

This is the first time I met the source of my goat cheese!!

September 10, 2009

I was doing a cooking demo at the 30th anniversary of the Los Angeles Farmer’s markets last week. The event was awesome but the goat cheese I brought home was the real highlight. Soledad is a farm outside of LA. They had brought one of the goats that make the milk for the cheese. The milk was made three days before and one of the goats was standing in front of me. beet bruschettaIt doesn’t get any fresher than that! The cheese was so fresh it was almost without smell. I had to put my nose down into the container to get a whiff of the fresh milk. It was the most beautiful, clean smell of  fresh milk. The grassiness was a backdrop instead of the prominent smell as in a dry/aged goat cheese.

I came home with a container. I opened the fridge and found a beet. I also had some fresh tarragon and some beautiful crusty bread. Bruschetta time! I cut the beets into cubes and boiled them until tender. A quick ice bath and a blot dry and they were ready. I broiled the bread with a little olive oil so that the porous surface of the bread was crisp but the center was chewy. I topped the bread with my lovely, FRESH goat cheese, sprigs of tarragon and the beets. A touch of salt and that was it.

The balance was there. Creamy fresh goat cheese broken up by the tender crunch of the sweet beets. The fresh tarragon did the job it always does. It adds a strong, grassy, bright citrus note that makes you say “what is in this”. Tarragon is one of those amazing herbs that taste great with everything from a seafood stew to a steak to beets with goat cheese!
You can also pluck the tarragon leaves off and toss them into your salad greens to really liven up a simple salad. (That is what I did the next day for the tuna salad I made from my wife and me). Enjoy!

Eat well, enjoy life, be happy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Yvonne permalink
    September 10, 2009 7:48 am

    I am absolutely delighted to find this website, thanks to the comments on Foodnetwork. I am a Senior Citizen who loves to cook and create, and on a budget. Jeff, you are a refreshing chef to watch and have recipes that are exciting, informative, and easy!! There are many older folks who will thoroughly enjoy you. Cooking for a few or a crowd and such tempting recipes! You are perfect for all ages and levels of expertice.
    Too bad, the foodnetwork judges needed to keep on with the same old, same old!!! silly stuff… You are a true winner and will do very well in the future…. Never give up. You are just what is needed for readers and T.V. audiences!!!!!!!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      September 13, 2009 1:10 pm

      Thank you Yvonne. These comments keep me going!! Thanks for following the blog. Jeffrey 🙂

Leave a Reply

