Skip to content

Harissa Grilled Pork with Garbanzo Beans

September 4, 2009

I was in the mood to try something new with harissa. I took a pork tenderloin and rolled it in whole caraway seeds (that wonderful rye bread spice). Caraway is also a spice that is in harissa so it is a nice flavor compliment as well as a way to add texture to the pork.harissa pork

I rubbed some thick sliced onions with olive oil and cumin seed (another spice in harissa) and grilled them. I simmered cooked garbanzo beans in chicken stock and harissa until the garbanzo beans took on the deep red color of the harissa and absorbed it’s earthy, spicy flavor.  I wanted a condiment that would cool things down and balance the dish. I heated up a Tb of olive oil and dropped a bunch of fresh chopped mint into the oil. I turned the heat off and let the mint infuse into the oil. I then stirred the mint and oil into some yogurt with a pinch of salt.

I let the grilled pork tenderloin sit for ten minutes covered in foil. This is always the key to juicy meat! I took a bite of the tender, juicy pork and immediately got the slightly chewy texture of the caraway seed that had toasted onto the outside of the grilled loin. I then took a fork full of garbanzo beans with some grilled onion and enjoyed the combination of the sweet, charred onion against the creamy texture of the garbanzo beans. The deep flavor of the chiles and spices in the harissa perfumed the garbanzo beans and created a sauce that was light in body but full of flavor! The finale was the mint yogurt. It immediately brought a cool sensation to my entire mouth and a freshness that only mint can bring. Enjoy! Have a great weekend and eat something tasty!harissa pork 2

Eat well, enjoy life, be happy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeane permalink
    September 4, 2009 5:06 pm

    This sounds wonderful-I will try it tomorrow.
    I am planning ahead now.
    Jeffrey-do you have an idea for Thanksgiving turkey?
    I want to do a “Dinner without borders” so to speak
    I am planning to make many of your dishes as sides, but want to do something with a fresh turkey.

    Thanks
    Jeane

  2. emma permalink
    September 5, 2009 4:31 pm

    Thanks for another recipe using Harissa, I have your two and 3 others I’ve found.

  3. September 9, 2009 1:01 pm

    Thanks. Can’t wait to try!

Leave a Reply

