Skip to content

Spice Smuggler Webisodes are live!

August 17, 2009

I thank you all for your support!!!  Click here to see my new webisodes on the food network. I hope there is more to come! Here is the release:

The Next Food Network Star Runner-Up Jeffrey Saad
Hosts The Spice Smuggler on FoodNetwork.com

NEW YORK (August 17, 2009) – After a hotly contested photo finish in season 5 of The Next Food Network Star, runner-up Jeffrey Saad is back.  Showcasing his “cooking without borders” style, the L.A. real estate broker with a 25-year food background hosts Web-exclusive videos, The Spice Smuggler, on FoodNetwork.com. (www.foodnetwork.com/star)

“He may not have been declared the winner of The Next Food Network Star, but Jeffrey won the hearts of a huge number of viewers,” said Bob Tuschman, Food Network’s senior vice president of programming and judge on The Next Food Network Star. “His food undoubtedly had a spicy elegance to it; one that I think will appeal to a broad range of chefs who love to experiment with unique ingredients and spice up their dishes.”

In his four Web videos, Jeffrey shares his love for incorporating unique spices into approachable dishes and offers step-by-step instruction for creating tasty entrees, including:

o Great with citrus recipes or anywhere lemon zest might be used, licorice-flavored anise seed is a small ingredient delivering huge flavor and a crunchy texture.  Jeffrey makes it the star ingredient in his one-pan tilapia fish tacos.

o It’s time to move beyond just salt and pepper.  Jeffrey’s new favorite, “5 spice,” is a versatile blend that can liven up many recipes.  In his twist on a classic soup, Jeffrey creates a 5-minute Chinese stir fry chicken soup.

o Smoked paprika is the best of barbecue, chilies and heat all in one.  Everything cooked with it tastes freshly baked in a fiery brick oven.  Jeffrey whips up a no-bake lasagna infused with the pantry’s most overlooked spice.

o Blended together, cinnamon, nutmeg, black pepper, cumin and cardamom create the warming spice garam masala.  Jeffrey uses the mixture to heat up his version of the timeless comfort food chicken pot pie.

To see more of Jeffrey’s culinary ideas in the new Spice Smuggler videos, visit www.foodnetwork.com/star.

Eat well, enjoy life, be happy.

46 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeane permalink
    August 18, 2009 7:16 am

    I did the tilapia tacos last night. They were wonderful. I hope you will post all the recipes for the 4 videos. I may have missed as few things as I watched, writing furiously.
    Great ideas and I look forward to more of them.

  2. tam permalink
    August 18, 2009 7:47 am

    Hi Jeffrey!! I watched them last night. They were all fabulous – you’re enthusiasm is contagious! The Lasagna was my favorite but I will probably try all of them. I hope you get your own spice rack with your picture on the bottles soon!! 😉

  3. Linda permalink
    August 18, 2009 7:56 am

    Jeffrey,
    Was so glad to hear that you have webisodes. I hope that you get your own show.

    Congratulations!

  4. eva permalink
    August 18, 2009 11:29 am

    The videos are great. Hope they lead to you getting the recognition you deserve as a great chef and excellent instructor!

  5. Karen permalink
    August 18, 2009 12:29 pm

    Jeffrey…Hurray for you!! The Webisodes are great. I agree with you and hope that there will be many, many more opportunities to see you on the Food Network.

    I am so very pleased!
    Congratulations!

  6. Jeane permalink
    August 18, 2009 7:12 pm

    Jeffrey-wanted to comment on Bob’s blog-unable to leave a comment.
    Seems something is wrong at foodnetwork site.
    Jeane

    • emma permalink
      August 22, 2009 11:47 am

      I was finally able to post but it’s being held for moderation, let’s see if the system releases it.

      Yes!

      I love the whole webisode concept Jeffrey, is it within your contact to re-post those to YouTube for a bigger audience?

  7. August 18, 2009 7:44 pm

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    But… I want the show on TV and NOT just online!!!! I’m emailing Bob and Susie about this!!!

    WOOHOOO! Go Spice Smuggler!!!!

    His,
    Mrs. U

  8. Amy permalink
    August 19, 2009 4:44 am

    Wow. Those webisodes are eduational, yet positively mouth-watering! GREAT stuff!

    I just love the premise of the show (including the pilot), primarily for how appealing it is to both newbie as well as more seasoned (so to speak) chefs. I like that while showcasing the character and use of a specific spice, you also include general yet useful cooking advice that makes the whole process very logical and approachable.

    Nice work, and thanks!

  9. Dee permalink
    August 19, 2009 5:51 am

    Jeffrey,

    Awesome webisodes.

    All four of recipes looked do-able and tasty as well as something new to try.

    I hope they are posted somewhere as I do much better working from a printed recipe.

    On an unrelated matter, wondering what section in the market to look for Harissa.

    Thanks,
    Dee

  10. ali permalink
    August 19, 2009 6:37 am

    Dee- When I watched the 4 videos (excellent job Jeffrey!) , there was an icon in top right corner that says’get recipe’, you can print them off…

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 26, 2009 8:39 am

      Thank you ali! Jeffrey 🙂

  11. Peggy Lea permalink
    August 19, 2009 4:46 pm

    Awesome! Jeffrey, my sons and I are so happy for you! We just got done watching all four of your Web Videos and loved everyone! You are great and we are learning so much from you! I just commented on Bob’s blog that I hope they give you your own show after all. We are rooting for you & I suspect that in the future you will have your own show! You keep up the great work! We plan on making every one of the meals on your viseo and we can just almost taste them now! Yum!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 26, 2009 8:38 am

      I thank you and your sons!! I appreciate the support and hope to “see” you much more!! Jeffrey 🙂

  12. Jeane permalink
    August 20, 2009 7:19 am

    Recipes are now at Food network. Thank you Jeffrey!
    However, something is wrong with their comment section. Cannot read or post a comment.

  13. Renee permalink
    August 20, 2009 4:55 pm

    Jeffrey, I am so glad that the network is showcasing you in some capacity. I can’t wait to try the Chicken Stir Fry Soup.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 26, 2009 8:26 am

      Let me know how it goes renee, thank you!

  14. Sally permalink
    August 20, 2009 5:48 pm

    Jeffrey, congratulations on these excellent videos. I hope they quickly lead to more videos and a show for you (for us, really!). Great balance on the videos: instruction, ideas new to many of us, and your cooking demo itself. Trying garam masala is first on my list. We’re staying tuned for more… Thank you.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 26, 2009 8:25 am

      thank you sally!!! Jeffrey

  15. Debbie permalink
    August 20, 2009 8:59 pm

    Jeffrey, I tried to leave a comment on foodnetwork.com also, but it doesn’t show….but I was thrilled to see the videos, and they were GOOD! Can’t believe how much you fit in & how much I learned in just a few minutes. Great job – I hope there’s more too!!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 26, 2009 8:25 am

      Thank you Debbie! Jeffrey 🙂

  16. Belinda permalink
    August 21, 2009 9:20 am

    Jeffrey–

    The webisodes are wonderful! I can’t wait to try out the lasagna recipe. I have been looking for a good lasagna that is outside of the standard italian mold for some time now. My husband is a HUGE smoked paprika fan, so this dish will be exciting to whip up!

    Just as a side, your enthusiasm as you walked us through the ingredients and preparation of the dishes was inspiring! It made me want to jump up from my office chair, run home and cook!

    Thank you so much for sharing these wonderful recipes with all of us.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 26, 2009 8:24 am

      thank you belinda, that is the goal!!!! I appreciate it! Jeffrey

  17. emma permalink
    August 22, 2009 11:59 am

    So FN beat the Travel Channel to you 🙂

    Congratulations on the webisodes, I enjoyed them and now I’m off to buy some whole anise and put it on fish. Who knew?

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 23, 2009 4:20 pm

      Thank you!!!!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 26, 2009 8:23 am

      Awesome emma, let me know how it goes! Enjoy. Jeffrey

  18. Dee permalink
    August 23, 2009 5:40 am

    The blog on food network is now working, although my comment is also being held for moderation.

    I hope that everyone will also post on the blog below the webisodes on the FN site.

    Dee

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 23, 2009 4:19 pm

      I know. It is driving my wife crazy?? hope to do more. thanks for the support! Jeffrey 🙂

  19. Natalie permalink
    August 24, 2009 7:31 am

    Hi Jeffrey, i wanted to thank you for your suggestion of Piperade a couple of weeks back. I did not actually make it there, but I did go to its sister restaurant of Bocadillos. The staff there was very friendly and helpful. I only regret I did not have someone with me so I could have tried more dishes. Since I was by myself there was only so much I could eat, lol. It will definitely be on my repeat list for next time.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 26, 2009 8:20 am

      sounds good Natalie!

  20. Steve permalink
    August 24, 2009 4:27 pm

    Hey Jeffrey, I met you at the Anaheim Hilton after the Guy Fieri show. We spoke about cooking with our daughters. Good luck with your new new ideas and hope to see you with your own show on Food TV soon.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 26, 2009 8:19 am

      Thank you Steve! I remember, good stuff! Jeffrey 🙂

  21. Lisa permalink
    August 26, 2009 9:17 am

    I don’t much care for fish. but the tilapia is one I will make. You made it come alive with the anise. And I will make the lasagna too. Thanks so much. the webisodes are great!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 27, 2009 7:34 am

      thank you Lisa, enjoy! Jeffrey 🙂

  22. Jeane permalink
    August 26, 2009 5:03 pm

    I called FN ( got the number from their FN store). The lady I talked to said she knew that many of Melissa D’Arabian’s comments to her recipes were being held “for moderation.”
    For example-her Moroccan meatballs recipe has 200+ responses. I could read only 3 of them!

    She said comments were coming in and the writer had not even tried the recipe. So they withheld these comments.

    She said she did not know if the same was happening to comments on Jeffrey’s recipes.
    I said I could not leave comment on his recipes and I was making them andn wanted to comment.

    I also told her I was not able to leave a comment on other FN recipes-so don’t know if this is limited to Jeffrey and Melissa.

  23. Adam permalink
    August 29, 2009 6:56 am

    You should’ve won the contest! I’ll be checking out your webisodes.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 30, 2009 8:57 am

      Thank you Adam! Jeffrey 🙂

  24. Adam permalink
    August 29, 2009 7:23 am

    Also… come on FOODNETWORK! Make these webisodes available in Canada. We know you’re paying close attention to the ratings on these webisodes… why not pay attention to accuracy, and see how big the fan base is in Canada. We shouldn’t have to VPN our way through the internet to watch Mr. Saad’s great show. Keep up the good work, Jeffrey!

  25. amgrumpy permalink
    August 29, 2009 3:21 pm

    Jeffrey,

    I loved your videos and can’t wait to try the recipes in them. I just happened to buy some five star spice and smoked paprika because I always here about them. Now I have some recipes to try them in. I always thought of the garam masala in just Indian food and that was why I bought that spice. I now know how to use it elsewhere. I really enjoyed your videos and learnt a lot from them. Hope you have more and get your own show I was routing for you and I still am. I have not found Harrissa in a stoe rbut I found a recipe on the web and I plan to mamke my own. It is great to learn about new spices and how to use them.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 30, 2009 8:56 am

      Thank you amgrumpy, sounds like you are open to lots of new things. I will do my best to keep it coming! If you are making the harissa from scratch you can make it a little thicker, more like a rub by adding very little sun-dried tomato or tomato product. Enjoy! Jeffrey 🙂

  26. DEBRA permalink
    August 30, 2009 4:27 am

    I WATCHED ALL YOUR VIDEOS WHICH ARE FABULOUS!!! I DECIDED TO PREPARE THE TILAPIA TACOS AND BAAAAM!!!! HOME-RUN!!!! MY FAMILY WANTS IT 3 NIGHTS A WEEK!!!! THE ANISE SEEDS AND THE SAUCE MAKE IT ALL HAPPEN. NOW MY THREE TEENAGE BOYS WANT TO GET INTO THE KITCHEN AND PREPARE THE SAUCE THEMSELVES!!!! I CAN’T THANK YOU ENOUGH!!!!

    TRIPLE WINKS FOR YOU, JEFFREY!!!!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 30, 2009 8:53 am

      Awesome Debra! That makes it all worthwhile! That is what I love to hear. Best to you and your family! Keep cooking! Warmly,
      Jeffrey 🙂

  27. Shari permalink
    August 31, 2009 7:32 pm

    Jeffrey,
    What store was used for the opening section of each video as you introduce the spices?? All those spices….. YUM!! I’d love to visit THAT store!

    His,
    Shari

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      September 2, 2009 8:48 am

      Surfas in Culver City and the Santa Monica Cooperative in Santa Monica. I know, heaven!

  28. ChuckJ permalink
    September 7, 2009 8:06 am

    Great job Jeffrey. Please tell me there will be more from you. I like your style, so what’s the word? Will we be seeing more of you on the Food Network site or even on TV?

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      September 9, 2009 6:19 am

      Thank you Chuck, I am working on it, things are feeling good. We shall see… Thanks for following. Take care, J

Leave a Reply

