Skip to content

Harissa, a great recipe in a tube.

August 4, 2009

You can buy it in most grocery stores. If you can’t find it you can buy it on line at www.kalustyans.com They also have every spice on the planet!

The great thing about Harissa is that you don’t need a recipe. It is a recipe in a tube! Spread it on a steak, lamb, chicken, almost anything before grilling.

I also like to sauté pieces of lamb. Take them out of the pan when golden. Add sliced onions to mop of the bits in the pan. Once the onions are sweet, soft and golden add a TB of harissa and a cup of chicken stock and you have an instant sauce. Let it reduce down and then wrap it all up in a pita or flat bread with feta cheese and mint. The deep red chile and aromatic scent of the caraway (rye bread flavor), coriander (bright citrus note), and cumin (earthy pungent warmth) are a perfect compliment to the rich, salty feta. The mint cools it all down.

Try it on a shrimp quesadilla! You can turn simple eggs into a great dinner with harissa. Spread it on some baguette and grill it in your grill press or broil it in the oven. Top the crispy harissa bread with a poached egg and some shredded spinach or arugula.

Eat well, enjoy life, be happy.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Erika permalink
    August 4, 2009 8:00 am

    We are all pushing to see you get your own show. My husband is also of Lebanese decent and we were so excited to see some North African and Middle Eastern flavor on you demo. We will be trying that steak sandwich. We are actually going to try our hand at making Harissa from scratch, if you got a recipe for that, please post!! Your blog is also awesome too!! Keep posting with your great ideas. I know this is not the last we will see of you.

  2. August 4, 2009 12:09 pm

    Jeffrey:

    I had a cookbook by Graham Kerr, the “Galloping Gourmet” on TV, and he had recipes that emphasized interesting flavors over the usual take on grilling or sautee’ing. I remember one recipe that included harissa.

    Keep up the good work, and I’ll definitely check out Kalustyans for the urfa biber. I bought some curry there when I was in NYC. It was fabulous.

    Are you making any videos for the Web?

  3. August 4, 2009 12:21 pm

    Sorry, I didn’t notice that you do have videos on VodPod and YouTube.

    I subscribed to these videos, so now I guess I’m a loyal fan. Keep up the good work.

  4. August 4, 2009 12:23 pm

    The urfa biber is also at the Global Palate.

    http://www.globalpalate.com/singlespices.html

    What would you recommend for purchasing a tagine?

  5. emma permalink
    August 4, 2009 4:38 pm

    Okay Bill, you made me Google that 🙂 Jeffrey, when I ate chicken that the restaurant described as “being cooked in a clay pot” is this what they meant? It was served on a clay platter that was hot, but I never dreamed that may have been the cooking vessel.

    See what delicious things happen when we open up borders and minds?

  6. August 4, 2009 7:01 pm

    And check out Delia Smith’s Roasted vegetable and Couscous salad with harissa dressing. DIVINE!
    As for a tagine, Bill, I have the Le Creuset and it does a magnificent job every time!

  7. August 4, 2009 8:22 pm

    I had never heard of harissa until The Next Food Network Star Sunday night!!! Jeffrey, my entire family was salivating over your recipe and my children all said “Mom, you HAVE to make that!!!”

    Thank you for sharing the link to the spices. LOVE buying new spices I’ve never tried before and having fun with them!!!

    Oh, and I didn’t know about your videos on Youtub!!! I’m going now to check them out!!!!

    His,
    Mrs. U

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 5, 2009 4:52 pm

      Thank you so much! Jeffrey 🙂

  8. Jeane permalink
    August 5, 2009 10:24 am

    I loved the Galloping Gourmet and all his great recipes. I still use those cookbooks today as the recipes are unique.
    I am hoping Jeffrey will take on the role of looking for new and different ways to create great meals.
    Jeffrey-can you post the steak sandwich recipe?
    I also know we will be seeing you on a show soon and I look forward to it.
    Just your descriptions of food made me hungry!
    Jeane

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 5, 2009 5:00 pm

      I will. Thank you!
      Jeffrey 🙂

  9. seaphile permalink
    August 16, 2009 6:47 pm

    Jeffrey,

    Thanks to you I’m working my way through my very first tube of harissa and, as you’ve said, it’s very versatile. It’s the perfect intersection of heat and smoky spice; you can scale the heat axis by putting unadulterated harissa on meat, chicken, veggies, etc, or you can get onto the smoky spice axis by cutting or combining harissa with a flavorful fat – olive oil, unsalted butter, or a soft or semi-soft cheese. We had your NFNS steak sandwich, which was an amazing meal unto itself, to catapult ourselves onto the heat axis, and are now lingering on the spice axis: the favorite family breakfast this week has been a mixture of young, mild goat cheese with enough olive oil to bind it and a good shot of harissa, on top of crusty toasted baguette.

    Cheers,
    Seaphile

Leave a Reply

