Skip to content

Fox Studios, Red Lobster, California Culinary Academy, and the Dodgers, so grateful!

July 26, 2009

I have missed you! What a week! I had the honor of participating in a fund raiser for IMG_0506Saban at the Fox Studios Extravaganza event, a day of promoting my Red Lobster dish with the executive chef of Red Lobster, the absolute pleasure of IMG_0549speaking to the students at my alma mater; the California Culinary Academy in San Francisco, and throwing out the first pitch at the Dodgers game in Los Angeles!

Being on The Next Food Network Star has been a privilege, an amazing adventure and a great learning experience. I have gotten closer to my family, deeper into my love of food and cooking and have realized how blessed I am to have so many people giving me so much sincere support. A huge thank you to all of you!IMG_0564

IMG_0591Eat well, enjoy life, be happy.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. bmslou permalink
    July 26, 2009 7:19 pm

    Whew..Another intense show. :o) Regardless of the outcome next week, I am very glad you have gotten this far on the show and hope everything works out for you win or lose. Of course, I really don’t see it as losing by the way. I look forward to much more of your work be it on the Food Network or elsewhere. I’m a big fan.
    Lou
    (Omaha, NE.)

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      July 28, 2009 7:59 am

      Thank you Lou! Is M’s pub still the place to go in Omaha’s Old Market? Take care and thanks for the support!
      Jeffrey

      • Lou permalink
        July 28, 2009 8:30 am

        Oh yea, M’s Pub & the Old Market are great. Actually ate there just a few weeks back. Good Stuff. I think it it’s great that you take time to respond to everyone’s posts when you can. It tell us even more about you than we already know and makes us even appreciate and like you more. :o) Have a great week.

      • Jeffrey Saad permalink
        July 30, 2009 6:50 am

        Thank you Lou, have a great week!

  2. July 26, 2009 10:09 pm

    Congrats on making it to the final two! I’ll be interested in reading your comments about serving such an illustrious table of guests in Miami.

    Ah the risotto! Tricksy dish, risotto.

    Ssshh, don’t tell anyone, but the risotto I had at the FN kitchens with Fieri as our dinner host wasn’t perfect either. Rather pasty and a bit gluey in fact. *smiles* But everything else was terrific. Same with your meal from this last episode of TNFNS! So you’re in excellent company.

    And I see the comments in this blog are taking off – well done! See, you’re a star already.

    Best,
    –L

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      July 28, 2009 7:57 am

      Hello Lana,
      Thanks for making me laugh! it was insane standing in front of those chefs and presenting. It was a total rush though and the moment I was out there my nerves turned to energy and I loved it! Lots of stories behind the risotto but I will not go into it and take my medicine. 🙂 Have a great week! Thanks for reading the blog! Jeffrey 🙂

  3. heavensarrow permalink
    July 26, 2009 10:33 pm

    Yay Jeffrey! Congrats to you on the final two! I’ve been behind you all the way and so has my son. We were so glad the judges sent Debbie packing. So many people have been rooting for you all along! I sure hope you get your own show. I will certainly watch. Congrats also on having your recipe on the Red Lobster menu. I’ve been sick with a severe bronchitis but soon as I am well I will go there and hope it is on the menu still. way to go Jeffrey!Best to you. You deserve it.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      July 28, 2009 7:56 am

      I am so sorry. Take care of yourself and feel better. I think you need a good dose of five spice chicken soup! Jeffrey 🙂

  4. heavensarrow permalink
    July 26, 2009 10:39 pm

    p.s.
    What a lovely family you all seem. Bless you all and may you have happiness always and good health and keep making those great meals.
    I’ve learned from watching Hell’s Kitchen that Risotto is a tricky dish. lol
    Don’t sweat the small stuff. You do great overall. besides, it looked like Katy had her hands in your dish but you didn’t throw her under the bush. You are a man to be admired. God Bless you.
    😉

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      July 27, 2009 7:54 am

      Thank you for the kind words!
      Jeffrey

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      July 28, 2009 7:55 am

      Thank you so much Heavensarrow! Means a lot. J

  5. Amy permalink
    July 26, 2009 10:40 pm

    Whew, intense is right– nerve-wracking, really. I was very relieved to see you make it to the NFNS finale, though. Congratulations!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      July 27, 2009 7:54 am

      Thank you much! Thank you to all of you! For some reason I am having technically difficulty replying to many of the comments. If I have not responded please know I am trying!
      Jeffrey 🙂

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      July 28, 2009 7:54 am

      thank you Amy!

  6. Anon permalink
    July 27, 2009 5:46 am

    Jeffrey,
    Congrats on making the final 2 but you need to have a better approach than cooking without borders. What is it that I’ll get when I watch your show? Will I be shown how to make a great Italian dish? Then a great Spanish dish? Then a great French dish? So it’s international cooking for the rest of us?
    Or is it just the border with Mexico, which is what it seems so far?
    You have a lot going for you but you need to provide a specific concrete reason why people will want to tune into YOUR show, not just that you love food and cooking (which you obviously do).

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      July 28, 2009 7:54 am

      Hello Anon,
      I appreciate your sincere thoughts. Thanks for taking the time to tell me. This has been such a great experience and part of it is honing who you are. I have been cooking and loving to eat and create for decades. It is a big shift to have to put it all in a neat package but I am working on it. Thanks much and have a great week! Thanks for reading the blog. I hope that gives you a good idea of my range and what I have to offer. This is the stuff I am cooking every day. Take care. Enjoy the rest of the summer. Jeffrey 🙂

  7. Robin Boyd permalink
    July 27, 2009 7:02 am

    Congratulations Jeffrey!! One more week! You’re a star now either way, but we’re all hoping for your win!! 🙂

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      July 27, 2009 7:03 am

      Thank you!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      July 28, 2009 7:52 am

      Thank you Robin! Have a great week!
      Jeffrey 🙂

  8. Janet Schmidt permalink
    July 28, 2009 11:40 am

    Congrats on getting into the final two. I nearly had a heart attack over the suspense. Hopefully you will win Sunday night!

Leave a Reply

