Skip to content

Leftovers worthy of serving to your most important guests!

July 15, 2009

I love to mind taste a new dish in the morning and think about how it is going to come together all day and then go to the store and buy just what I need. I then come home and enjoy brining it all to fruition in the kitchen. Often times I like to do that whole process in five minutes standing in front of an open refrigerator looking at leftovers. IMG_0430Last night was one of those nights and it came together so well!

I had some grilled onions, half a can of white beans, pesto from our pasta, Mexican crema (basically sour cream that is not sour) and a few pieces of applewood smoked bacon. I decided to make a soup. I cut the bacon in small pieces and sautéed it until it gave off its shinny, beautiful, smoky fat. I could smell the sweet smoked wood and wanted to eat it by itself.  I then added the grilled onions and white beans. I sautéed it all for just a few minutes until you could see the beans pulling in the grilled flavor of the onions and the rich flavor of the bacon. I added water b/c I was out of chicken stock. I usually don’t like to use water. Water has no flavor! In this case there was so much going on the water actually worked well to tame the strength and richness of everything.

I simmered it on low for ten minutes and puréed it smooth. I topped it with a drizzle of pesto and the Mexican crema. One bite and my mouth was filled with this creamy, smoky silk. The beans did a brilliant job of taming the bacon and onions. With each bite of soup the smoky bacon flavor increased. The pesto added a powerful punch of basil’s magical fresh licorice accent and the puckering saltiness of Parmesan which was then balanced out by the cream. No one flavor took center stage but they all came together to create something that I would have loved to have served to a room full of my friends. I was just as happy eating it with my wife and enjoying a glass of wine. You have got to love leftovers!!

Eat well, enjoy life, be happy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandi permalink
    July 15, 2009 8:52 am

    So, what’s the name of this yummy dish?

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      July 16, 2009 6:51 am

      OOPS! Sorry. It is a white bean soup. Thanks for reading 🙂

  2. Samuel permalink
    July 16, 2009 6:23 am

    Thanks for the soup idea, it sounds delicious. My wife and I love watching you on The Next Food Network Star! I’m glad you also have a blog to follow as I’m interested in anything you have to say.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      July 16, 2009 6:49 am

      Glad you enjoyed the soup! It is also great with a handfull of roasted corn! I appreciate the support. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

