Skip to content

The greatest daughter a man could ask for.

July 7, 2009

Every Wednesday I go to the farmers market to stock up for the week. My 12 yr. old daughter Isabella came with me today. It was one of the best days ever. I turned off my phone and was completely present. IMG_0307I was enjoying my daughter’s every move, her every word. She has so much to say and it all makes sense. To see this girl that I remember holding across my forearm now be a mature, amazing little lady is a feeling beyond words. This little lady is quite the foodie as well.

We walked the market waiting to see what would catch our eyes. We stopped to see my favorite tomato girl and got some perfect tomatoes. Isabella then picked out the perfect fresh apricots. We decided right there that we were going to grill them with some agave syrup and ancho chile powder. We got some beautiful green onions (Isabella’s favorite). Morel mushrooms are gone but the mushroom guy had the most beautiful fresh Porcini mushrooms. He was telling me how they grow them on wet oak. The mushrooms develop this bloom underneath them. Almost like a mold (sounds gross, but totally tasty). We sautéed them and made a risotto. The mushrooms were firm on top but almost custard like on the bottom with the richest flavor of mushroom I have ever tasted. They perfumed the rice dish completely.IMG_0423 Isabella then picked out some flowers for herself and mom. We laughed, talked and enjoyed every minute together. We then spent the week having great meals as a family and talking about our great morning at the market. Great family, great food, quality time together, what more can a man ask for!

Eat well, enjoy life, be happy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2009 2:01 am

    Lovely site! Very professional looking. Thanks a lot!

  2. Hannah permalink
    August 8, 2009 3:11 pm

    Isabella reminds me of myself. I am 12, I love shopping at the farmers market, and I am a foodie, like my mom. I like your site.

    Hannah

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      August 10, 2009 10:18 pm

      Thank you Hannah. Keep enjoying food! It is a great adventure. Take care,
      jeffrey 🙂

Leave a Reply

