Skip to content

Lobster Pot Pie Anyone?

June 29, 2009

If you had the displeasure of watching me crash and burn on episode four last night then you know what you are not making for dinner tonight; lobster pot pie! You can’t imagine the instant flood of emotions I felt while watching the episode myself. I think my biggest mistake was that I got married to the idea of the pot pie because I had a good personal story from childhood which is what the judges wanted to hear from me. When my time was half up and nothing was coming together I actually considered, for a split second, forfeiting. I thought there is no way I can do this. My time is half up, nothing is working, and I am going to be embarrassed to serve this. We had an hour and a half to create and execute our concept. I thought I had a great idea but by the time I realized it was not going to work it was too late to reinvent my dish. I could go on and on about excuses but they would be just that. All of the finalist had the same challenges as I did and some really shinned. In retrospect I can think of so many tasty, doable options that I could have done.

How about splitting the lobsters in half, brushing them with a chipotle (smoked jalapeno) glaze. Broil them in those really hot ovens that worked just fine. The lobster would have cooked in ten minutes and I would have had nice sweet, firm chunks of lobster with a smoky, spicy glaze on top. I could have cut the lobster into glistening big bites and laid it over a mixed green salad with a blueberry and Adler sea salt vinaigrette. The lobster would have been perfectly cooked and slightly spicy. The blueberries would fill your mouth with flavor in the form of vinaigrette but their sweetness would be balanced by the sea salt. The smokiness of the Adler sea salt in the dressing would have been a beautifully second layer of smoke to compliment the chipotles. Tasty, quick and a perfect representation of the three ingredients assigned to me.

Like everything in life I believe yesterday is buried with tomorrow and I will think of it no more (Og Mandino). It is all about today and today is a great day. See you next Sunday night at 9:00! It can’t get any worse! Can it?

Eat well, enjoy life, be happy.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2009 9:10 pm

    So, did you think the RR show was worse than the blueberry lobster pot pie? That RR segment must have been difficult to do with Jamika – I’m eager to hear your thoughts on it.
    best,
    –L

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      July 7, 2009 7:22 am

      Jamika is a great girl. We just didn’t click. I was sincerely just following the script that Jamika and I had put together. I think we mis-judged the time, she was having a bad week, I am intense. Put that all togehter and the RR show is the result. I can honestly say I have been true to myself and doing the best I can do with only good intentions always. Thank you for watching. “See you” in Miami Sunday night 🙂
      Jeffrey 🙂

      • July 9, 2009 8:34 am

        I smiled at your “I am intense” comment.

        I can be intense too. Most of the time it works for me, other times ….
        *big sigh*

        But it’s clear you have good intentions, and it’s clear Jamika is very talented. I’m eager to see the Miami episode.

        I frequent the FN Dish blog, and we were alerted that you all were doing something down at SOBE. Are you able to talk about any non-NFNS events you went to while you were there, if any? Thoughts about the SOBE fest in general?

      • Jeffrey Saad permalink
        July 11, 2009 9:12 am

        Sounds like you understand, thanks 🙂
        No, we did not do any other events? Maybe I am forgetting something??
        Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Sunday! Have a great weekend,
        Jeffrey 🙂

  2. Amy permalink
    July 7, 2009 3:09 pm

    Very cool to read some your reflections on some of the chaos going on with TNFNS this season. So first of all, thank you for sharing! Live lobsters and blueberries aside (I gather you’ll never think of Maine the same way again), you seem to be the last chef-testant who will end up completely frayed — physically and mentally — by these ridiculous culinary obstacle courses. Good luck to you, and I hope enjoyed Miami.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      July 11, 2009 9:13 am

      Thank you Amy. I appreciate the support! Have a great weekend.
      Jeffrey 🙂

  3. Deb permalink
    July 15, 2009 12:14 am

    Jeffrey, I have to say that it has been a few weeks since the lobster, blueberries and salt challenge and I still don’t know what I would have done with that combo.

    I just wanted to say that you have been a pleasure to watch.

    From blogging at the Food Network site, I can say that you have been
    my favorite and the favorite of most of the bloggers there since week 1,
    so no matter what happens, I know that you will succeed.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      July 15, 2009 7:14 am

      Thank you Deb. That means a lot. I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

