Skip to content

The Great American Food and Music Fest

June 18, 2009

What an event!! I had the opportunity to go to this festival as one of the finalists to represent the Next Food Network Star Season 5. There were over 10,000 people expected to eat the greatest food from across the DSC_0086country while listening to some amazing bands. Sorry, no time to talk about the music. The food! Wow! Everything from a bacon tasting at Zimmerman’s from the Midwest to Greater’s ice cream out of Ohio, the list goes on.

The goal is to promote the show. I am going from stage to stage introducing cooking demos and talking about the Next Food Network Star. Within an hour I see Bobby Flay and get a warm welcome and have awesome flashbacks of the filming of the show. Susie Fogelson is there who is always a pleasure. She is being mobbed by fans as well. I get to meet and hang out with Anne Burrell (who is very cool by the way). What a day. Is this really happening? And the crowning moment, I get to introduce Bobby Flay in front of thousands of people on the main stage!

Ok, it is getting even crazier. I have people stopping me and saying “you’re that Food Network guy, we love you, can we have a picture with you?” I am thinking, really? I am looking over my shoulder assuming Anne Burrell or Susie must be standing behind me. No, they are talking to me. What a trip. The Food Network fans are as passionate as they come. Speaking of passionate fans; Guy Fieri comes out on the main stage and instantly commands the attention of thousands of fans as the music blares. It was truly like a full blown rock concert.

I spend the day signing autographs, taking pictures, and talking to everyone about the show.  I think the best thing I ate was the Smore by Charles Chocolates. This smore is made from an organic graham cracker that eats like a thin cake with a crisp crust. On top sits a piece of chocolate that glistens and tries to hold its shape under the heat of the bubbling marshmallow on top. Marshmallow is not a fair word for this. It was a square and only about ½’ tall. As a result it covered the whole piece of chocolate and had lots of surface area to be caramelized by the torch.

What a day, what a show!

Eat well, enjoy life, be happy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2009 10:34 am

    Wow, what a trip. I was there all day, 8am – 11pm and didn’t see you. You must have been moving around, eh? Well glad to hear you had a good day. I did too.

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      June 30, 2009 9:17 am

      Sorry I missed you! Next time 🙂
      Jeffrey 🙂

      • June 30, 2009 10:17 am

        *smiles* I hope there is a next time. I have great faith in Jim Lewi; he’ll take all that went wrong, fix it and put on a killer festival next year. I’ve told him to count me in. It’d be great if you’re there too!

Leave a Reply

