Skip to content

Groundhog Day, Lobster and Mexico

June 15, 2009

I hope you had a chance to watch week two of the Next Food Network Star. What a blast!
I got Groundhog Day as a holiday I was to bring to life. Such a relief because who doesn’t have a long list of favorite Groundhog Day dishes!! NOT. Very challenging. Oh yeah, this is a competition and it is supposed to be very challenging. I enjoyed having to get creative and being pushed.

I love the flavor of seafood and chorizo. Although chorizo (you can get dried, this was the fresh ground pork) has a strong flavor from the paprika and spice in the ground pork it seems to always step aside at the right moment and allow its seafood counterpart to show themselves. The key to keeping this dish fresh and clean is to cook things separately. I boiled the lobster and set it aside. I did a sauté of chorizo and onions until the onions softened and soaked up the juice that the chorizo is famous for giving off when it cooks. In the very last minute you halve the avocadoes and scoop out the inside. Cut the avocado into chunks and toss with lime and chopped chiles. I then gently mix everything together and put it back into the avocado “shell”. You take a bite and you feel the richness of the avocado in your mouth. You then get a cleansing kiss of heat from the chiles and chorizo. Just when you think you have tasted it all you bite into a sweet chunk of lobster that reminds you why surf and turf is such a treat. The right amount of lime juice always cleanses the palate and gets you ready for the next bite! The quesadilla was a simple sliced papaya and ground ancho chile. The ultimate in “Sweet Heat”. I love the play of sweet and spicy. It keeps a dish alive from the first bite to the last and brings out the best of every flavor. Great challenge, good people, another one down! See you next week.
Eat well, enjoy life, be happy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Griffin Kaup permalink
    July 3, 2009 6:25 am

    Groundhog Day???!!!! Are you serious Groundhog day isn’t a holidasy it is just a season change. I mean would I call my friends and say lets go out to eat it’s groundhogs day!! Heck no!!!

    • Jeffrey Saad permalink
      July 7, 2009 7:22 am

      You are too funny my nephew! I hope you had a great time at camp. Thanks for watching the show. Love ya,
      Jeffrey

Leave a Reply

