Skip to content

Mind-blowing Tasty Mushroom Bruschetta in less than ten minutes!

May 21, 2009

DSC06198I’m hungry but it is not dinner time. Grab a handful of chips? No. Tonight I want to treat myself to something incredibly tasty but that takes less than ten minutes. I grab a handful of mushrooms. Slice, sauté in a little olive oil, garlic salt and pepper. That’s it. When I talk about color equaling flavor mushrooms are king. They have so much body they can take all the heat you give them.

While the mushrooms are sautéing I grab a loaf of country bread and slice it bruschetta style. Rub the bread with a little olive oil and throw it under the broiler for a few minutes. The broiler transforms good bread into something incredible. Unlike the toaster which can make the bread dry and crisp the broiler gives you a crispy top but it is chewy as the underside of the bread does not get the direct heat.

Bread goes on a plate; mushrooms go on top and finish it with a shave of salty, piquant, Parmesan. (Parmesan is in the Umami family and will always make your mouth water! More on that later).  My taste buds are incredibly pleased but I am not too full to enjoy dinner! That is what I call a snack!  A sip of earthy red wine is a perfect match.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

