Skip to content

Volleyball, Meatloaf and the art of family

May 20, 2009

The best thing I ever learned was that work will expand into the time you give it. You can never be done working especially when you love what you do. That is why I make sure to do everything that is important in my life and somehow the work still gets done.

Yesterday I went to my daughter Isabella’s last volleyball game of the season. It was at 3:00 in the afternoon so I was hesitant with all I had to do but I went.  I watched her score the winning point and her smile filled my soul and made it all wortDSC06196hwhile. She is amazing. We then hung out at Jamba Juice and had a nice chat. We decided to go home and make a good old meatloaf with garlic mashed potatoes. Ground beef of course but we added some rich, bright red (the paprika!) chorizo into the mix. Some Panko bread crumbs to keep it moist and a golden brown, sweet rich bacon onion mixture to take it to the next level. I am always mesmerized by the tasty transformation of almost any ingredient as it takes on color. Look at this picture. COLOR = FLAVOR every time. As the bacon got crisp and brown I tossed the sliced onion in and used it as a “mop” to pull the yummy brown bits off the bottom of the pan. The onions gave in and their full, strong flavor became sweet; their texture soft and succulent. Our meatloaf and potatoes were the perfect meal to eat while watching American Idol together. There is nothing better than mouth watering food with a family you adore.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sistafriend permalink
    May 20, 2009 10:51 am

    Wow, sounds great. I want the recipe for the garlic mashed potatoes too!

Leave a Reply

