Skip to content

Happy Birthday To Me…

May 17, 2009

I finally did it with the permission of my wife. I bought myself a bottle of 1998 Gaja “Sperss”. Mostly Nebbiolo. A touch of Barbera. Gaja is the king of Italian wine. One of the pioneers of the “super Tuscans” and the only man I would allow my wife to leave me for.

At a hefty $200 a bottle I felt quite guilty in these tight times. I got oveDSC06095r it after one sip!! You have got to be F’n kidding me! One sniff was like a freshly opened box of dark chocolate cherries. My nose was overwhelmed with pleasure. The wine then softened to deep red fruits, tobacco and cedar; like my cigar box. This is not poetry but serious sensory overload.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 11:52 pm

    Yeah, I also like my my cigar box, I think it’s really valuable for me.

Leave a Reply

